Weekend Freewrite 3/10/2018: 3 Prompts: Father O'Brien's Funeral

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

My awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

This is my first 3 Prompt Weekend Freewrite, 3/10/2018 initiated by @mariannewest. Let me explain how it works for those of you who don't know. "You get 3 prompts and write 5 minutes on each prompt, creating one story. Each prompt is in a separate post. No peeking until each one is finished." Part 1 is the first sentence, which is the prompt. Part 2 is Prompt 2, which is a sentence to be used first as a continuation of your story. Part 3 is Prompt 3; the dramatic twist. I put the prompts in bold so you can see how it works.

I was dressed in a completely inappropriate shade of pink. Any shade of pink was inappropriate for Father O'Brien's funeral, especially my hot pink outfit, and I stuck out like a sore thumb. All of my other outfits were at the cleaners. Darn, I knew I should have borrowed an outfit from @deirdyweirdy, since her whole closet is filled with nothing but black. That would have been the most appropriate attire for a priest's funeral. It had been eons since I was in a church, and I was there was because Father O'Brien was my cousin. The church was packed. All of the scorned looks and sneers that I got were nothing compared to the looks and shouts of disgrace when @wonderwop walked in. He was a pallbearer and was wearing a huge, solid silver skull necklace...AND...a large, skull and crossbones belt buckle.

We were drinking champagne and losing our shirts. That was when complete mass hysteria broke out. Others joined in, drinking champagne, shouting, singing, and the church choir belted out songs, but things quickly got out of hand. With every shout of "Blarney!" shirts were thrown in the air. The nuns began to pass out and they were dropping like flies. I sent a text to @deirdyweirdy and asked her to bring me one of her outfits. My shirt went missing and I needed to cover up quick before the cops came. @deirdyweirdy arrived and I changed into the black outfit she brought for me; I was finally dressed in black. I knew I could count on her because we are a team known as, "The Prompt Deliverers" and we work together like a well-oiled machine. Before @deirdyweirdy arrived, she had been working on a new prompt: "speech" and was coming up blank. She sat on the pew and chugged a glass of champagne, before calling @mariannewest to suggest a different prompt. All of a sudden, @deirdyweirdy stood up on the pew and gave the speech of her life; killing it, when she described how to celebrate the life of a deceased loved one. A nun was so impressed with her speech, that she jumped up and shouted, "Yes! This is indeed a celebration of Father O'Brien's life and Yes! He would have wanted his funeral to be just like this one!" The nun heard sirens in the distance and helped all 3 of us escape through a secret exit of the church.

We ran to @deirdyweirdy's van, but we were in no shape to drive. That was the day Lillian learned to drive. "Sister Lillian," that is. Would the cops ever expect a nun wearing a black habit, driving a black van with black tinted windows, of helping the 3 freewriters in black, to escape from the havoc they caused? I sure hoped not! All because of an inappropriate shade of pink outfit that was worn to a priest's funeral. But, then again, you shouldn't be surprised of the chaos that can be caused when you put 2 or more freewriters together in the same room; even when one of them is a cat.

Disclaimer: Yeah, yeah, this took me longer than 15 minutes to write, but you all know how hard it is to stop when the bell rings.

This cute gif has been brought to you by @snook. Thank you!

Sort:  

LOLOLOLOL!!!! 😂 I can just see you in a church with your bright pink tophat and Wonderwop with his bright silver bling making everyone gasp! Then I was crying, imagining the "thud" of the nuns dropping like flies!! Thank you so much for this, it's hilarious!!

You and Deirdyweirdy make a fantastic team! So awesome, in fact, that I picture this as your entrance:

"We're the Deliverers"


"Prompt Deliverers."

Oh, you made my day! I am happy to have made you laugh for a change. And this cat with the dark glasses and what he is saying is priceless! HAHAHAHA! Thanks so much @brisby! Hugs! : )

Excellent read, really enjoyed it. I know deirdyweirdy quite well and I can tell you she has saved the day on many occasions, somehow she always seems to have a van handy.

P.S. I can let you into a little secret about deirdyweirdy she actually used to wear (maybe still does) a priests coat and a Shroud (what dead folk wear). Somehow she persuaded me to go to an undertakers (this is way before the Internet) and buy one from them. She really lives up to her name.

HAHA! Thanks so much for your nice compliment and the ROFLMAO comment!
I am so happy that you stopped by! : )

@whatisnew, I liked so much this story that I decided to nominate it for the Unsung Steemit Fiction Readers Contest. I hope you win! :)

OMG! No way! Thank you so much...I sure do appreciate it! : ) Can't wait to read the other stories later on tonight. Thanks again Marco! Hugs! : )

Hahaha, yer gas! Henceforth we shall be known as The Prompt Deliverers. Prompt in name and nature and prompter than all others.......sorry all you other encouragers, but you know it's true;)

I always knew I was destined to be the hero in my own epic tale. Cheers!

Oh, I am so happy that you saw this and even happier that you liked it! I had no idea you were going to be in it and you were a perfect fit. LOL! My hero! : )

Truth is, I am of exemplary size and fit perfectly into most things.
Thanks again for the starring role.

You are a trip! And the pleasure was all mine! : )

Ahahahah! Best. Funeral. Ever.

When it will be my time to go, I want to go like this (I'm lying: I want a dolphin choir leaping out of a pool and singing "So long and thanks for all the fish").

I'm here in official capacity of Deliverer (Yes, I'm part of the family too):
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-114-5-minute-freewrite-monday-prompt-frosting-a-cake
Enjoy!

HAHA! I love your idea! : )
Thanks for the prompt...Deliverer! And yes, you are beloved family member for sure! : )

I imagine this is pretty standard for an Irish funeral. My uncle's was pretty close.

I am happy to know that I was close to the real thing. All I know about the Irish is that they like to drink and of course, St. Patrick's Day comes to mind. So, you have some Irish in you? Are ya lucky? LOL! : )

Actually, he was an in-law. Great guy, though! I miss him.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.26
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64266.94
ETH 3077.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87