Day 63: 5 Minute Freewrite- Promt: fire

in #freewrite7 years ago

Day 63: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest- Prompt: fire

That 1950's song "Great Balls of Fire!" popped right back into my head once again when I read the prompt: fire. I did a post 6 months ago explaining why I thought of this song back then, so now I will tell you about it here.

One night last summer I happened to look at the sun setting and it was huge. I said, "Great Balls of Fire!" That 1950's song popped in my head instantly because that is what the sun looked like; a great big ball of fire.

But the sun was yellow and not red like fire, and I was trying to think of another name for this big ball of sun. Should I call it a Great Ball of Warmth? Great Ball of Heat? Great Ball of Energy? Then I thought of other things the sun provides us with. The sun is a huge lantern in the sky that lights the day. It provides us with vitamin D and the sun provides food for nature to grow. So please don't take the sun for granted because it does so much for us and nature. I ended up calling the sun a "Great Big Ball of Wonder."

This is the reflection of the sun on my brick wall as it was setting.

Image Source: 100% own work.

Sort:  

So true. We take so many things for granted!!! and I love the picture of the brick wall!!!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-64-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pill

Thanks! Yup, that reflection on the brick wall was pretty amazing! : )

The photo of the sun through the trees does look like a fireball! (Thank you for the song that is now in my head. 😂) You're right that the sun isn't given enough credit for keeping this planet livable. Plus, one of my favorite things in the summer is to lie in the sun and read a book. I like where you went with this, though. Great Ball of Wonder indeed.

Thanks for your kind words. I love the sun and warm weather too and I am already anxious for our next summer. That song is now stuck in my head now too. HaHa! : )

Qurator
Your Quality Content Curator
This post has been upvoted and given the stamp of authenticity by @qurator. To join the quality content creators and receive daily upvotes click here for more info.

Qurator's exclusive support bot is now live. For more info click HERE or send some SBD and your link to @qustodian to get even more support.

Great Balls of 🔥

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 61940.56
ETH 3421.31
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49