Day 493: 5 Minute Freewrite: Monday-Prompt: stitch

in #freewrite5 years ago

Day 493: 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge initiated by @mariannewest. Monday-Prompt: stitch


Photo by me @whatisnew

A Stitch in Time

There was Frieda, taking her daily walk through the neighborhood. She was known as the "bag lady" because she was dressed in rags and carried her bag full of small, hand-held gardening tools everywhere she went. You could take away her home and belongings but don't you dare touch her gardening tools, garden and pine trees.

Her neighbor, Judy was admiring Frieda's assorted pine trees when she found a bagworm nest hanging in a tree, which was located in the middle of her row of pines. Being a good neighbor, Judy told Frieda about the nest and said, "It is winter which is the perfect time to get that nest off of your tree. A stitch in time saves nine."

One year later, the infestation was apparent as one bagworm nest became nine. When asked why she hadn't removed the bagworm nest, Frieda replied, "Never will I remove them because I envy them. Oh, how I wish I could live inside of my bag and hang on my beloved pines."

My awesome badge was made by @fireawaymarmot and personalized by @omra-sky. Thank you!

Sort:  

Howdy this fine Sunday Butterfly! Wow what a cool and interesting story! It sounds true, is it? I like that badge. How you been? Don't tell me it's still snowing!

Howdy jonboy! No, this story is fiction but I am glad that you enjoyed it. : )
How have I been? That is a loaded question. It finally stopped snowing but more is on the way Friday. I shoveled that crap every 2 hours for 3 days straight and by Monday I couldn't move from pain and exhaustion. Then Tuesday I slipped on ice but didn't fall thank God, but I pulled muscles in my left leg and knee so back on the sofa for a couple of days with the heating pad. I could hardly put any weight on that leg and I still can't sit very long. That is why I am so late with this reply and haven't posted. Enough about me. How have you been?

Dang! I mean howdy Butterfly! but dang! That is some crazy weather! It sounds like you won't be out of pain until it stops snowing, who ever heard of such a thing? And you're still shoveling your neighbor's driveway too?

I have nothing interesting going on here especially compared to your dramatic struggles. Things are just fine, spring is here, it's supposed to be 80 degrees on Saturday.

Dang is right! ROFL! I was thinking the same thing about me not being out of pain until it gets warm. I never did shovel my neighbor's driveway. Just her porch and sidewalk. But the way I feel, especially how my leg and knee feels, I am NOT shoveling any snow on Friday! It is supposed to turn to rain so hopefully it will wash the new snow away. It will take many days to wash all of the snow away.

Wow! 80 degrees there on Sunday? I am sooooo jealous. Please send the warmth up here. : )

haha! how far North do I need to send it Butterfly? lol..no I know you can't answer that. Well, hopefully your snow will be the last, it's been a long winter for so much of the country and we've been down here enjoying ourselves. I should probably feel guilty but then in the summer everyone says My God, how can you live in that kind of heat!!?? lol.
But yes, 70's tomorrow and 80 on Saturday.
Do you have to mow the lawn or is there a lawn to mow?

Really far north. Please send it to me...I am begging you! LOL! It has been a rough, cold winter for many.
I love the heat and my body loves it even more. No, thank God I don't have to mow the lawn or it would become a forest. I hired someone to mow. I used to love to mow but my body just can't do it anymore.

Howdy again Butterfly! Well, I'm sure that Spring is on the way, it has to be doesn't it?
Well you would love Texas then, you love the city anyway so you could just stay in the city without all the critters that we talked about. lol. I like mowing too. I'm sorry you can't do that anymore.

Hello @whatisnew! This is a friendly reminder that you have 3000 Partiko Points unclaimed in your Partiko account!

Partiko is a fast and beautiful mobile app for Steem, and it’s the most popular Steem mobile app out there! Download Partiko using the link below and login using SteemConnect to claim your 3000 Partiko points! You can easily convert them into Steem token!

https://partiko.app/referral/partiko

What a great character - Frieda the bag lady! And the lesson on bagworms. We have those two in our pines, by another name, but I can picture what you're describing. The engraver beetle isn't the bagworm creature... sawfly, I believe we call it. Anyway! Mom and Dad is the Tuesday prompt:
https://steemit.com/partiko/@mariannewest/freewrite-tuesday-sorry-scheduled-post-didnt-post-prompt-mom-and-dad-xmwtrsol

I feel so bad that I missed this. : ( I am glad you like the character and thanks for the prompt delivery. The sawfly is different from the bagworm moth. FYI...the females are little fat worms that never leave the nest until she lays her eggs. Once she leaves the nest, she falls to the ground and dies. The male bagworms grow wings and fly to find the females. Hope you are having a great weekend! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60841.72
ETH 2603.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56