A Token

in #freewrite5 years ago

She walked tardily to her fiance's door. He had proposed to her yesterday. She had been all smiles and happy. She posted on her instagram, twitter, facebook and finally her whatsapp. She sent pictures personally to her girls crew. They had chatted into the night.They wanted the full gist.

This wasn't the face of the happy girlfriend of yesterday. She was somber and looked unkempt. She entered with her key. He was going to meet her. She had told him they had an important discussion and it was urgent. Her voice had sounded disembodied and brittled on the phone. So he told her he was on his way.


(10minutes later)

Hey baby, what's wrong? You sounded so down earlier, fiance said.

Now, the tears were rolling down her cheeks. The hiccups wouldn't allow her talk and she kept crying.

He hugged her and there was silence, Until she was ready to talk.

She removed the ring and placed it on the table. He looked at her in shock, trying to comprehend the situation and wanting an explanation at the same time.

"I am sorry charles. I can't go through with this."

"My grandfather made a pact with another family in my hometown. We the female children, for the next three generations have been given as a token to their grandfather." she said

"I do not understand what you are trying to say," he said with fear and confusion in his eyes.

"The female child will be matched with the male child of the other family. It was done in covenant and I have to go through with it for the sake of my family"... She sobed as she explained.

What the fuck! You will go through with it like it's the 80s?!?I can't believe my ears, he said.

He stormed out of the house filled with fury.

image

Picture source: pixabay
Prompt: Token

Written for @mariannewest and @freewritehouse daily free writes. Join the free writers, lots of Steen and SBIs to be won.

THANKS FOR READING!!!

Sort:  

Another heart-wrenching story. And it still happens in many areas of the world... so sad for the lovers.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Congratulations @wems! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 100 replies. Your next target is to reach 200 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Yeah, pretty sad and unbelievable as well. But don't sweat it man, she's still in the 80's, and she's a token to some dark... err... thing! You're happening now, so move!


Awesome contribution as always, Wems. I wonder, how do you get to make freewrites? Do you go like, okay i'm gonna write right now and tada! you're done in 5 minutes? or is there some kinda preparatory ritual before you get started?

Also, have you seen my cat?

I keep thinking why some women put up with those kind of culture. It's not fair on everyone involved. A grandfather writing my faith even before I was born?!?!.... So not happening,Lmao.
I am gonna break the whole cycle.


Funny, there's no preparatory or ritual oo😀😀.
It mostly start out with the prompt, once I see a prompt, I just think ehnnn " what can I relate this to?" Then a scene or two pops into my head and I start writing, the writing sort out itself. Like, all i need is to start writing, the story forms along the way.

Oh my Gosh, what a cute, little , scary thing😊😀. Please tell me you are joking😒

Glad all that shit happened and ended in the past.


About your writing, So you don't have pringles or custard first before writing? That's weirdly cool. Do you ever get those times where you feel the story isn't forming quite as you'd like it and you just delete a lot of it?

About the cat. His name is Steem. Steemcat... How about that?

Lol
No pringles or custard.

Oh I do. It like some kinda blockage and i do feel it even before i start writing. Funny, that also comes from the prompt, maybe I am not vibing with it or can't relate to it or something. For example, there was a day the prompt was "cookie cutter". I have never seen one, I do not bake. Nothing was coming, I kept scribbling in circles until I got zilch.

Other times, I write the story but they seem there,like I criticize my own writing. I delete, then wave the story in another direction. I might write up to 3 stories before I finally feel good about one. If not, I discard and just sit out that prompt. Those days, I read more of other peoples stories, comments, and surf steemit more.

Steem cat?!?!... Now that's hilarious😂

Ignore the cat. You're amazing!

Thank you.
I feel good, when I see this kind of comments. It means I am doing something right and my dream is not a ruse

I'm sure this is still going on today.

🐓🐓🐓🐓Today's Farm Prompt🐓🐓🐓🐓
MomentCam_20190207090758.gif

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-475-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-rooster

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64254.80
ETH 3145.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88