You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Space Between Kitchen and Bathroom

in #freewrite5 years ago

I am one of those few people who have never seen Harry Potter, but I'm interested in the reference. It never occurred to me that I was being deprived of anything living in that little room or even the invasion of privacy. Those were things that, apparently , were not an issue for me. I found things about my little room that I liked and had no issue at all with being placed in that little room. I didn't develop an issue with small spaces until I got married and lived in a very small trailer then had my first two children. The trailer was like a little circle that you could get around in 1 minute from Kitchen to bathroom to bedroom to second bedroom to living room. It was a trailer with an addition and it was super small. After a few years of that I knew that I could never live in such a small space again. Thank you for reading and commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

My favorite thing about steem is how many different people that have experienced such different lives. In Harry Potter, Harry has a "bedroom" under the stairs at his uncle's house. It was an abusive and neglectful situation. Not much of a spoiler at all if you do decide to watch the movies.
I know someone who grew up in a similar situation. She never thought much of the small space, even after seeing the rooms of other children she met at school.

Thank you very much for sharing... I think I can understand where that girl is coming from. I was not in an abusive situation at that time, but I think sometimes if a child has all their other basic needs met something as insignificant as having your own big room it's not that big of a deal. Just my two cents.

Posted using Partiko Android

And yet the "tiny house" phenomenon is gaining in popularity! Oh the times they are a changin'!
Of course, many think the tiny-house crowd (especially those who have to go use someone else's shower) are hypocrites and dorks: http://www.hipstercrite.com/2015/05/22/dear-people-who-live-in-fancy-tiny-houses/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59708.78
ETH 3185.76
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45