You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Space Between Kitchen and Bathroom

in #freewrite5 years ago

I can't help but think of Harry Potter. Were you aware that you didn't have much personal space as a child, or did it take being an adult to realize it?

Sort:  

I am one of those few people who have never seen Harry Potter, but I'm interested in the reference. It never occurred to me that I was being deprived of anything living in that little room or even the invasion of privacy. Those were things that, apparently , were not an issue for me. I found things about my little room that I liked and had no issue at all with being placed in that little room. I didn't develop an issue with small spaces until I got married and lived in a very small trailer then had my first two children. The trailer was like a little circle that you could get around in 1 minute from Kitchen to bathroom to bedroom to second bedroom to living room. It was a trailer with an addition and it was super small. After a few years of that I knew that I could never live in such a small space again. Thank you for reading and commenting.

Posted using Partiko Android

My favorite thing about steem is how many different people that have experienced such different lives. In Harry Potter, Harry has a "bedroom" under the stairs at his uncle's house. It was an abusive and neglectful situation. Not much of a spoiler at all if you do decide to watch the movies.
I know someone who grew up in a similar situation. She never thought much of the small space, even after seeing the rooms of other children she met at school.

Thank you very much for sharing... I think I can understand where that girl is coming from. I was not in an abusive situation at that time, but I think sometimes if a child has all their other basic needs met something as insignificant as having your own big room it's not that big of a deal. Just my two cents.

Posted using Partiko Android

And yet the "tiny house" phenomenon is gaining in popularity! Oh the times they are a changin'!
Of course, many think the tiny-house crowd (especially those who have to go use someone else's shower) are hypocrites and dorks: http://www.hipstercrite.com/2015/05/22/dear-people-who-live-in-fancy-tiny-houses/

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60238.27
ETH 3215.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46