The Exception

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

"Let's not be so unbending about the rules," he said. "Rules are good, properly interpreted, but life shouldn't always be lived by the books."

The man set down a battered notebook with the many names gathered by the committee.

"We can't eliminate everyone who ever broke a rule. No, rules aren't made to be broken, but nor should we ignore all the good each of these members have done."

"Who here among us has kept every rule??" said another.

Silence ticked by with the movement of the second hand. No one moved. Suddenly an old man stood up.

"My son's name is on the list. He's a good man, upstanding citizen and a loving family man. His neighbor turned him in last week. Can't we forgive one infraction?"

A woman stood, tembling, a bag on her shoulder weighing her down. She spoke almost in a whisper.

"My sister is on the list. Her cousin reported her last week. She's three months pregnant and has two toddlers at home. She's never hurt a flea. Why is she on the list?"

A young, well groomed man stood and slammed a fist on the table. "Order!" he shouted.

"If we are overlooking your family members, we will soon have anarchy! Everyone must be subject to the laws!"

The murmurs grew in the room and chairs were shifting on the floor. A woman in the back of the room wept quietly. A young boy, no older than 11 walked up to the front of the room. He was barefooted and his hair was tossled as though just waking.

"I want to make a request," he said. "If you will remove all the names from the list and grant pardon to the offenders listed, you can put my name on the list and I will take their punishment."

The man standing looked down on the child in wonder.

"Why will you jeaporize your whole life for these lawbreakers??"

"Sir, I know I've broken a written rule, and most likely an unspoken one. I believe in second chances and rules unbending break a back."

"Who taught you this, son?"

"My Father, sir. His name is first in your book."

By the book is today's freewrite word prompt. New five minute freewrite prompts are posted daily @mariannewest. Everyone is welcome!

I hope you'll join our growing group of dedicated freewriters! Contests weekly, and chances win Steem Basic Income!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase

https://www.mannabase.com/?ref=2a661b9579

Earn free Sweatcoin the app that pays you for exercising** *referrals earn free coin, too!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

What a brave boy! And he apparently had the best teacher :) As we say, rules are there to be broken ;)

I believe that rules should be followed by everyone but if a rule is broken, it should be looked at case by case as we're all different and our situation is different. Following rules blindly and being punished for something what doesn't hurt anyone is unfair and this is why I understand this little wanting to make a point :)

Thank you for sharing and have a great weekend!

Wow! Thank you so much @curie.

Posted using Partiko Android

Excellent #freewrite glad I could upvote this and comment.

Thank you @wonderwop 😍

Posted using Partiko Android

I knew that was coming
Goosebumps :D

my thanks for reading and appreciating!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you so much @c-squared 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

Quite an interesting short read, I enjoyed it quite a lot. Hope to see more stories from you soon!

Thank you so much for reading and the kind comment. @ivanm7

Posted using Partiko Android

I did not get to this freewrite and could not think of a thing for it. Great job on such a complete story for this one @wandrnrose7. I'm glad you never described what rules were being broken.

I comment for the curie comment contest and I am always so glad to see freewrites in here. It's really amazing what the prompts bring out. Big congrats to you :)

Thank you so much for your encouraging words. I have had a really emotionally draining weekend and this was written the day before the ensuing events which are currently unfolding. You made my morning. 🤗

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm so sorry to read this reply, but happy my comment helped you, @wandrnrose7. I hope things are going better for you now. This too shall pass...

@fitinfun..... its still crisis mode. I know this will pass and I am just happy I have the wonderful support of Jeff and my friends. hugs

Posted using Partiko Android

What a lesson. Great story.
a child will lead them, they say.
This reminded me of so many utopian societies conceived in literature (always reflecting reality).
King Jr's letter from a Birmingham jail comes to mind. The line about just and unjust laws. I'm all for breaking those. Quite a few injustices and cruelties have been commited in the name of legality, of rules.

Thank you for your insightful comment I agree that laws must also consider the human elements and I see so much wrong with how people treat one another in the name of laws.

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you for using CryptoSicko!

Well done and thank you for joining and supporting my subscription based upvoting bot that provides you with daily upvotes in exchange for your spare STEEM POWER.
Delegation links for CryptoSicko
100SP 250SP500SP

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.31
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 64140.77
ETH 3133.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15