Migraine Stinks - Day 173:5 Minute Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Migraine Stinks!


"May I please have your address? Oh, I asked that already, I'm sorry?" sigh

Wading through a typical work day when hit with migraine prodome.

The affliction of brain fart is a very real, and frustrating part of the every day life of those of us who are regular sufferers of migraine.

If you have never had a migraine, you may not realize that the typical image of someone suffering in the dark room, or holding their head in their hands is not the only symptom we face. The premigraine phase, prodrome, may have no pain, but mental fog and confusion slips in causing havoc with work and social interactions like the starting sentence of this freewrite, taken right from my typical work day when a migraine comes to roost.

Brain farts continue even after the pain phase in the postdrome phase or post migraine. For me, I have what's know as asphasia, which means I get stroke like symptoms where I cannot speak the words I am thinking, or they come out completely wrong, similar to a stroke victim. Thankfully, this is a temporary thing which passes after the migraine.
I've said some pretty weird things during a migraine prodrome and postdrome.
I think I'm set for old age because I already have practice!

Yeah, migraines can really stink! Thanks for reading!

psychic-3284198_1920.jpg


DQma9tAYw8NTk2cmEEDyqVjwADQmNppB97uFpApHKWoG49p_1680x8400.jpeg

This ends my daily freewrite hosted by @mariannewest
Today's prompt is fart

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

Discord
Freewriters now have our own room in the Isle of Write Discord!
Here is the link to join: https://discord.gg/zfXNRnK

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for a month!

U5dsRbXTSANY4Pyzn62VwCCPWft8PvG_1680x8400.png
wandrnrose7_red.png

rose7.png

Logo by @hoschitrooper

Sort:  

The asphasia sounds frightening and I am happy to hear that it is only temporary. I know that pre-migraine fog all too well. And the day before I get a migraine, I am so cold and can't get warm. Great use of the prompt and yes, migraines really do stink!

The asphasia is really more frustrating than anything else, since my job is a phone job for health insurance claims and benefits, accuracy is vital. Asphasia can make it so I am incorrectly quoting benefits or forgetting important information the members need. I get cold during migraine, too. I always wonder what causes that symptom. How was the dental surgery?

Wow! You must be an excellent employee since you are able to keep your job. I can see how frustrating that would be and I feel for you. You get cold during a migraine too? That is interesting and I have no idea why that happens. The dental surgery was awful and extremely painful, but at least I am off of the pain meds now. I am still in pain but it is tolerable. I still have a long recovery but only because of my other health problems. I also have facial migraines which I got after it and that finally went away yesterday. It is so painful that I feel like ripping my face off. I have TMJ Syndrome (I have had TMJ surgery in the past) so that is all flared up now. And I have a dsilocated jaw, so you can imagine the pain I have from that too. Now, aren't you sorry you asked? LOL! I do appreciate your concern though. : )

My girlfriend gets migraines and she's worthless on those days, I feel so bad that I can't help her. Great story.

I'm sorry to hear about your girlfriend. I do know how debilitating they are, my boyfriend is very helpful when I have one by making sure that I have something to eat. They really can be miserable. Thank you for stopping by and reading my freewrite!

Just thought I'd let you know that this post was featured in our Freewrite Favorites today.

@byn

Thank you so much for the featured post!!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by wandrnrose7 from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

My favorite is your mention of the brain fart as that reminds of a brain freeze occurring after eating cold Popsicles in the hot summer. Thanks for sharing, hehe. I'm Oatmeal Joey Arnold. You can call me Joey.

Oh, those brain freezes! I know that feeling. Nice to meet you, @joeyarnoldvn!

Hehe yes, love brain freezes hehe or maybe not hehe. How are you?

Asphasia is one of my symptoms that I get as well, especially once I've reached what I call "the point of no return"- where no drugs can touch the migraine and I'm in for at least 24 hours of dealing with it and the aftermath. One of my worst days I was trying to make it through my last class with a migraine, and my poor kids were so confused.
"Angel, can you read the objective?"- Looking straight at Edgar
"That's not my name, miss"
"I know, Angel, can you read it, please?"
Student just shakes head and reads the objective.

How is the daith piercing working? Have you noticed a reduction in your migraines?

Oh, how I relate! I forget names and words as well as things I know well.
It's miserable when it happens. I'm very sorry that you experience this, too. I haven't gotten a full-blown migraine since Saturday. The barometric pressure has been changing, and it's currently raining and getting warmer. I'm waiting with bated breath!

Ah the brain fart, I was wondering who would go down this avenue... Nicely done 👍

Yes! I did decide to go there LOL. Thank you for stopping by!

I am rooting for that earring to work for you!!!

Thank you @mariannewest! So far, so good. None yet since the piercing Saturday!

I'm glad I don't get them. My mum did, my sister does, and her daughter does. It either skipped me or perhaps eating animal products are a trigger for them.

I am glad you don't. I had a head injury as a result of a pedestrian car accident in 2000. This is what initiated my headaches. They seem to have gotten worse through the years. They typically are triggered by weather for me. Thanks for reading, dear. I'm sorry to hear of your family's migraines! I know what it's like to deal with them on a regular basis, and it really does hinder life.

I’ve never had migraine. It sounds awful.
It’s your Wednesday prompt deliverer here with today’s challenge: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-174-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-vandals

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

It is, and I'm happy you have never had one! Thanks for the prompt!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 67364.26
ETH 3322.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.71