Luxury Baths - Day 43 Selfie Freewrite Celebration

in #freewrite6 years ago

Luxury Baths

When I first left my ex-husband in 1999, I kind of scored on my first rental trailer. It was situated out in the country alongside French Creek. It was very beautiful there, we even saw eagles fishing in the creek and in the morning when I would go to work, sometimes, there would be a blue heron sitting on my front lawn. If it wasn't for the evil landlord, it would have been ideal.

One selling point for me, besides all of this beauty and privacy with a long driveway away from the road, was the spa tub! I've never owned one before and I certainly never expected to have one. It came to be invaluable to me for my sanity.

I left my ex-husband with no job and no real marketable skills, in my own opinion. He wouldn't allow me to work. I taught Sunday school for many years, did some part-time gigs during separations with phone sales and I taught vacation bible school as well as home-schooled my own children. Believe it or not, I was snapped up, but not just one job, three jobs and all three were part time and didn't paid much. Waitressing, Retail sales at now defunct Kaufmann's on the watch counter, and West Corporation, phone orders.

In order to compensate for the lack of child support that my husband was paying ?which translates to zero child support) I worked those three jobs seven days a week, sometimes two jobs in one day. Depending on which job I was working is how far I would have to drive home, or, to the other job and then home. Having never work full-time away from the home to going to working three jobs part-time, I was a mess. My only salvation was knowing that I could come back home and soak in that wonderful spa tub with jets.

I owned a cockatiel named Captain that was gifted to me by my best friend, Sharon, as a housewarming present because I loved her bird while she sheltered us for the first month. This bird loved coming into the bathroom with me while I took baths and he would strut along the side of the tub or fly up onto the shower rod. Alternatively, he would come down to me and I would put him on my hand and lower him into the water so that his feet would get wet. He absolutely loved it.

I forgot to mention that I was also still homeschooling both boys. I had been homeschooling for four years, and we had not yet transitioned. Billy was a senior and just needed to finish out the year, so we agreed that he would get to stay home. Initially he was going to assist home-schooling my youngest son who at the time was 12.

Eventually that would have to change and my youngest son would be put in public school out there in the county, but for now, there was all of this and managing a household.... I can honestly tell you that my baths were my oasis and I would stop on the way home from work to buy a new candle as often as I could to relax and enjoy. Sometimes I fell asleep, but it was always nice to get that reprieve.

5 minute timer sounds...so much more to write but that's all for now! Thanks for reading.

signature_2.gif
This is my 5 minute freewrite.
The prompt today is:

bath

I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively freewriters!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Earn free cryptocurrency through mannabase
join here and free Check out this app ... It pays for walking referrals earn free coin, too!

Sort:  

Hello @ wandrnrose7 ... as always your stories are very interesting; since, they respond to a real life story, your real life. Thank you for sharing these wonderful life stories, which although they have been very hard for you, have allowed us to enrich our life experience.
Greetings @wandrnrose7

I agree, I learned a lot during that time and found a way to keep food on my table. It was worth it all. Thanks my friend!

You wrote in 5 minutes what would have taken me like a morning, also, you look pretty on that picture

I use voice to text and that made it pretty easy. I clean up punctuation & grammar before I post it. It may work for you, too! Thanks for reading & supporting!

Wow! Can't imagine the three jobs plus home-schooling! You're amazing!
I had the scenario of having not worked (besides a few part-time gigs), getting divorced and then the child support stopping too. I ended up working as a heavy equipment operator and head of traffic control for a construction company with 50-60 hour weeks and I agree that nothing is better than a long, hot bath!
Love that your bird came into the bathroom and tub with you :) I could see him strutting along the edge, flying to the curtain rod.

Well come on that sounds like a really rough gig! On my hat's off to you as well. Thank you for stopping by! Much love.

It is wonderful that you got to have that small escape and I'm so glad for you that you got yourself away from the ex. I very much find a bath to be like a small escape or oasis as well. There is something almost magical about a bath and a nice candle. This is a great freewrite and peek into your life.

Yes, pure heaven after a long day, often on my flat feet. A soak was bliss! Thanks for stopping by. <3

Awesome freewrite, you've really got the hang of it, and my admiration :)

I must say that when I had a bath, I did indulge :)

Hey! Thanks for your encouragement. I love freewriting. It opens a new brain path almost daily. (Some I'd rather forget, but that's the nature of them!) Thanks for the comment. :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58974.49
ETH 2666.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45