After May - Day 202:5 Minute Freewrite Poetry

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

After May

A delicate parasol
shades her porcelain skin.
Rays of May dancing
on every budding bloom.
Her heart will lanquish,
quiet, nestled in its room,
awaits the promised hand.
A gentleman will come.
If, perchance, a cloud would form,
or rain should blow her way,
She lifts her skirts in one slight hand
to shelter;
hide away.
For now the birds sing joyous
and warmth within her plays.
She twirls the fragile parasol,
and sings,
"Let come what may."
I saw her in the garden,
I could not turn away,
Her beauty surpassed
even sun,
like sundown dresses day.

20180509_220759.jpg

This is my 5 minute freewrite from parasol
I hope you'll join in with a growing group of lively writers!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png

Click the graphic to join the fun

And join us at the Isle of Write in the freewriter - retreat

IOW COLOR LOGO.png
art and flair courtesy of @PegasusPhysics

The Make a Minnow project is an initiative designed to reward those who are exceptional in the minnowsupport community, the prize is a 5k delegation for one month!

rose_new.jpg

Logo by @Bembelmaniac

U5dsySA1DicJEJ2Q3oS7GZLA5xqK9Fe.gif

Sort:  

You just received a Tier 0 upvote! Looking for bigger rewards? Click here and learn how to get them or visit us on Discord

Love it! Your words match parasol so nicely and your picture too :)

Thank you for your kind words! The word Paracel spoke to me immediately. I have read so many Victorian novels I'm almost ashamed LOL

You chose a beautiful picture! It matches with your words ;)

Thank you very much for stopping in for the encouraging words.

Perfect outfit for a perfect poem!

It took forever to find the appropriate photo! Thank you for stopping by.

nice it looks like a tattoo :D

Hello! Thank you so much for stopping by and checking out my poem. I agree, that picture made me stop and look twice. It's super cool! I wish I could take credit for it.

hehehe :) find some nice clothes table top sheets to take your own photo :D :)

Migraines are beasts, hope it dies quickly xox

Thank you very much for the empathy. I ended up having to call off work today and I've sat around trying to get better so I can work tomorrow. There's nothing more frustrating than not being able to be on steemit LOL

You make me want to become a better writer with every read. You are amazing with words! :)

Thank you so much for those encouraging words! I don't consider myself a great writer, but I do feel that I have a lot to say in my heart. I hope you have a wonderful day and know that you have left me with a smile!

On my end, it's already night time (10:00 pm to be exact) so I'll sleep with a smile knowing I made a soul smile. How we tell what we have in our hearts defines how good we are as writers :)

I pray you find good sleep! Thank you for the kind words.

Very nice. I liked the line, "Rays of May dancing on every budding bloom." A good job, especially if you were seeing migraine stars.

I'm here with your Thursday prompt delivery reminder for today’s challenge: Back Pain https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-203-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-back-pain

Also Check It Out!

200 Day Party!! Win 10+ SBD and SBI memberships!!! — Steemit

Thank you for the lovely comment and prompt!

If I had to associate your poem to a painting, I'd choose a Renoir or, better, Woman with a Parasol by Monet. Your words feed my imagination and transport me in a timeless dimension 😊

Ahh that Monet I almost used! How did you guess? Thank you!

Heheh telepathy between great minds thinking alike 😁 All the scene is so impressionist!

Haha we do, and it felt impressionistic as I wrote which is why that painting attracted me first! Have a wonderful weekend!

You too dear friend, It was nice to meet you yesterday in discord btw..hope that the bloody headache will give you a break!

Beautifully turned poetry, the rhythms building up and up on top of one another, then settling down to rest in those last few lines. I pictured the subject perfectly, even without the image!

Thank you so much for your wonderful comment! I really appreciate hearing it from somebody is good as you at peotry!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63700.12
ETH 3136.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83