You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 14: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Apricot

in #freewrite7 years ago

Not much to say about this one. But here it is -

Apricot - 5 Minute Free Write Challenge

This challenge is a toughie. Not much to say about apricots. They are super chewy when dried. I still don’t understand how they don’t rot when dehydrated, because they never get hard. Must be something to do with the sugar content. I like the color of the apricots flesh. That figures though because I love the color orange. I don’t see them that often at the store or maybe I just never look. It’s not a fruit I buy. I don’t think of them as typical American fruits.

I don’t like or dislike them. I guess they are a neutral in my life. Just like so many other things that we walk past on a regular basis and take no notice of and form no opinion. That’s what an apricot is to me. Sorta a nothing, yet, it has such wonderful properties to it. I hear it’s a mainstay in the Iranian and Turkish cultures. I wonder if that’s even true?

Sort:  

See, you had a lot to say about the Apricot :) And yes, it is true - eaten often in Turkey and Iran and many other countries. And the very orange dried Apricots have sulfur on them - that is why they are kind of soft and still don't rot. The untreated ones look a bit ugly - but are so much better for you :)

Ahh, I should have known something was put on them to keep that color. I'm more of an all natural girl, given a chance. Most fruit and vegetables don't look like the ones in the stores. Those truly are a select few :(

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44