The Weekend Freewrite- 11/10/2018

in #freewrite6 years ago

Sorry I am a day late on this. My weekend has been quite hectic. I am also behind on Friday's #Freewrite as I wrote, editted, and thought I emailed the Word file to my personal email from my work computer but when I got home Friday evening..... NOTHING.

5 minute free writing challenge. Ready, Set, GO


"And why am I never told what occurs in my house?" Kyla demanded in a loud voice.

“Awww Mom, you’re always tripping on something” said Steven, to his mom. “We are just having…..”
“Shut your mouth before you get any deeper young man!” Kyla says while walking her two oldest boys from the county jail, again. “You boys are getting too much to handle. Maybe you should go work with your Uncle John on the family ranch.”
“No, no, no” the boys said.
This is the second time they had gotten picked up for minor offenses this year. They boys, only 14 and 17 were headed down a path of bad consequences if it did not get reigned in somehow.
“And where is the money going?” Kyla says. “I know you two are selling drugs out of my house! I work too damn hard for you two knuckleheads to get it taken away for being dumbasses.”
“Well, well.” They stammered.
The older of the two, Mike, had just bought a new used car with cash. The younger boy, Steven, just went on a shopping spree. Their mother knew neither of them had jobs.
“We just wanted some spending money and you can’t give us what the guys in school have. We didn’t mean anything by it.”

5 minutes up


”Everything in nature moves. Rocks shift. The Earth spins. The wind blows.

….and we are broke. You boys know I work 3 jobs to keep a roof over your ungrateful heads and food on the table and all you do is bring drama and trouble to my house.” Kyla starts to cry as the boys look at each other knowingly.
“Momma you know we love you and”
Steven is interrupted by Mike, “We know you are doing your best. We just want to fit in with the other kids in school. Ever since Dad went away it has been hard on all of us.”
Steven chimes in, “Man we ain’t talking about him again are we?”
“Well we have to. If he ain’t putting money on the table then we have to.” Says Mike.
“No you don’t have to do that…” between sobs. “I just don’t want you two to turn out like his no-good ass. Promise me boys?”
“Yes momma?” in sync.
“That you will leave these things behind us and stay outta trouble. Promise me that you all will finish school, and stay out of the ground! You can’t help me any behind bars or dead.”

5 minutes up


Knife cleaning was such a tedious process

….but it was a necessary task to do after skinning hogs. If the knives were not cleaned to standard then harmful germs and bacteria will be present and spoil the next batch of meat butchered.
It has been 3 months now since Steven and Mike have lived with their Uncle John on his ranch. They have become stronger than ever and have a new found respect for honest work. They speak to their mother every week and beg and beg her to come back home and go to their old school, see their old friends. She always replies,
“Hell no! You kids have given me enough trouble. I told you that you were not going to be selling that stuff in my house and dammit if I didn’t catch you the very next week!” Kyla had grown weary and tired of covering up for them and trying to keep herself clean and not get fired from any of her jobs.
Since they have moved out she has not had to work graveyards at the supermarket stocking goods and she may save enough to move out to the country in a neighboring town from her brother John.

5 minutes up


This is a semi-true story of my brother and I (names have been changed of course). We had gotten ourselves in a bit of trouble in our teenage years. Our father had been in prison most of our lives but was released and we moved from Michigan to Tennessee. I graduated high school and left for the Marine Corps while my brother was behind me a grade in school and graduated and went to the University of Memphis.

After I left home there was no one to look after my brother and he fell in with the wrong crowd in college and got back on the drugs, this time as a user. He was kicked out of school and lost all his scholarships. After hoping job to job he ended up getting an out of state, felony drug charge. I will not go into his life too much but he is now in his mid-thirties and a felon. He has 3 kids by different women and struggles to make ends meet.

I served 12 years in the military and changed my life for the better. I have a decent paying job and collect disability compensation from the Veteran’s Affairs. I am married and my wife and I have a beautiful daughter and I think I have broken the cycle of poverty for myself. I am sad to say my brother, sadly has not.


MyLogoArt20180806121557.png

AF2BA33A-F0DE-41AA-AE45-F0BE6375293D.png

DD62DDE1-090D-432F-A834-2462093701C9.png

Looking for a few ways to earn passive income?

Please check out the following links to earn:

  • Steemit has its own activity app! Please check out @actifit to learn how to earn SMT and Steem Power!
Sort:  

Congratulations @superdavey! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published a post every day of the week

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemFest3 and SteemitBoard - Meet the Steemians Contest

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63850.79
ETH 3415.87
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.46