5 Minute Freewrite: Face Mask

in #freewrite6 years ago

Find the prompt here!

Face mask

I was watching a movie last night and a couple of the characters did a Korean face mask. Face mask sounds a little like mask waxer. Well, they share a same word. So, mask waxer. There's this improv game, I'll teach it to you now. Everyone stands in a circle. One person starts. If they say "mask waxer" to the person on their right, that person should then also say "mask waxer" to the person on their right, and so on. Or, the person could say "whiskey mixer" to the person on their left, and then that should continue around the circle to the left. BUT at any time, anyone can say "Mr. Whiskers" in response to either "mask waxer" or "whiskey mixer" and this changes direction. So, for example, person A said "mask waxer" to the person on their right, aka person B. Person B responds "Mr. Whiskers." So now person A has to turn to the person on their left and say "whiskey mixer" OR person A could respond with "Mr. Whiskers," which would send it right back to person B.

That's time.

IMG_1848.jpg
Me, doing some improv back when I was pregnant with @loch.

PS I didn't have time to finish, but there's another very important aspect to this game. If, at any time, anyone laughs, they have to take themselves out of the circle and run a lap around the circle counter-clockwise and then resume their place in the circle. Everyone runs the same direction, counter-clockwise. This is important because sometimes something will spark a whole bunch of people laughing at once, and you don't want to trip over anyone. A way to remember the things you say is to use this full sentence: "Mr. Whiskers, the mask waxer, mixes whiskey." The goal of the game is simply to keep it moving quickly, not to do anything perfectly nor to try and mess up. You WILL mess up, you WILL laugh, you WILL run a lap (or two or three or...).

PPS The last time I played this game with my improv group, "whiskey mixer" got sent to me, and I really wanted to change direction of the circle, but what came out of my mouth when I tried to remember how to do that was "Mr. Kittens!" This caused a major laugh in the majority of the group, including myself.

Sort:  

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Oh what a fun game! I could have used this back when I taught drama classes!

Is there alotta drinking during this game? Uncle Bruni checking on today's #freewrite. Great job. 👍

Darling, this is delightful, but to clarify: You can only change the direction (give it back to the person who gave it to you) by saying, "Mr. Whiskers".

This is what you said, but I was confused at first because you talked about the person who is starting it. I see it is my error in understanding, not your error in writing. But I started writing this comment, and now I can't seem to stop.

Oh there, I stoppped. Wait, no I didn't. I'm still going. And I accidentally put three ps there. Were you thinking I was going to be productive tonight? I cannot be. I am entirely occupied by writing this comment. See you in a few hours. When you will find me suffering from acute wrist ouchiness. Known in medical circles as carpal tunn-

I am confused about what you were confused about?

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought you were saying that if someone gave you mask waxer, you could give them whiskey mixer. But I see that I was wrong.

Ah, gotcha. Yeah I could have made that a little clearer.

Posted using Partiko Android

Hahaha, just imagining this game is already very fun! I bet I'll end in laughing fits if I ever play this!!

Ah I love this game, I used to do it at my improv classes and it was always loads of fun, although I think we were using a different word from mask waxer (the other two were the same though):D This really made me smile! Thank you for that :)

Oh, here's the latest prompt in case you wanna do more writing!
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-368-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-yummy

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

freewriteFavorites-300px.png

🤣 that sounds like so much fun!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50