You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Day 29: 5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: great-grandpa's nose

in #freewrite7 years ago

This was what came to my mind instantly when I came across this prompt. I know it's not too good, but I wanted to write something.


Great grandpa Ian was not a bad man at all, but sadly my father realized that when he lost him to cancer. I was raised by my father alone since my mother passed away while giving birth to me. My father was raised by his grandfather who was my great grandpa. Grandpa Ian was quite harsh on my father throughout his child- always asking him to do his work on time, making sure he did all the farm work and studied as well and also made him cook food, iron his clothes, cut wood, make the fire and everything else he could think of.

So as a child my father didn’t like great grandpa Ian that much. Another reason he didn’t like him much was that great granda used to sneeze a lot. Every time he sneezed, great grandpa’s nose used to twitch like a gazillion times followed by the loudest sneeze ever and as he sneezed, drops of saliva used to squirt out of his mouth to and often landed on my father when he was around him. So yeah, that is quite a valid reason for not liking great grandpa.

When my father stepped into adulthood, he found out that great grandpa suffered from cancer and after two years of battling with it, he lost his life to pancreatic cancer. It was then that my father was on his own and it was then that he understood how kind great grandpa was on him. he was able to live quite well and easily on his own because he knew how to live independently and had no trouble doing work for himself.

Ding- time's up

Sort:  

ooooh. That sneeze !! thanks for writing :)

Two options today! Challenge yourself with a 3-prompt freewrite (15 min) or choose from any of the single prompts we did before.
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-3-the-first-sentence
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-31-weekend-freewrite-3-single-prompt-option

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60157.20
ETH 2416.98
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43