Day 99: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: sunset

in #freewrite6 years ago

Omg, omg it is the 99th day of the freewrite curriculum and I am just so happy about. One day more and it will be a 100 days old. Woohooo! Way to go @improv and @mariannewest for starting this and making it grow so big in just 100 days. Congratulations to you both. Now back to the prompt. Today's prompt is sunset which is something I absolutely love. Here's my freewrite on the prompt.


sunrise-sunset-sun-calculator.jpg

Image Source

Standing on the top of the mountain, Aryan closed his eyes for a while as the sun set low. The sunset was gorgeous like it was every day. The hues of red, orange accompanied with strains of violet made the sky looked absolutely breathtaking, but even with all its beauty, the sunset could not make Aryan smile today. Today, he was serious and determined because he had decided to change the course of his life for good. Before he took the next big step, he reminisced the words of his father.

'You are a disgrace for us', he had said followed by 'I wish you were never born to us.' This was when Aryan was 15 and was forced to leave the house by his father. His mother did not want him to go ever. She loved him despite everything. He was born from her; he was a part of her. How could she not love him? But his father, well he was strongly moulded by the societal norms and gave in to the pressure so found it was only best if Aryan left them so he would feel less ashamed.

So Aryan did leave his home and for a year, he struggled to find his place in the world but could not. He still could not get why he was such a disgrace. He was just a transgender. What's wrong with that? Does that make him any less of a human being? Does that mean he does not have feelings? Does that mean he is not worthy to live? Does that mean he should not be cared for? Aryan never got the answer to these questions.

Maybe his willpower to find his place in the world and bear his hardships had depleted or maybe the world was so cruel to him that he could not take anymore. So as the sun disappeared behind the mountains so did Aryan. He was flying even when he was falling. He felt his soul was being liberated even when he knew he would breathe his last soon. For the first time in years, Aryan felt he was free and smiled just before he closed his eyes for good.


I know this was a sad freewrite but somehow the prompt sunset made me brew up this story. It is for all the transgenders in my country who go through a very hard time finding love and happiness. Some day, I am going to work harder for them and to help them out. Do share your views on the freewrite. Till next time,

Love and light,

Sharoon.


I am a part of the @ecotrain which is a fantastic place to be on Steemit.

U5dtK1Bwh1JUB4WMQpFBKbgKCufsZiN_1680x8400.png


APP.png

Sort:  

What a story my friend. What a story. Wow. And, you came up with this on the spot? You have some talent, my friend. Even though it is a sad story of rejection from being different than the social norms. Especially sad because he was rejected by the people who should love him the most.

I just loved how you described the last paragraph of the story as liberating as he was finally free from all the hardship he had in life.

Amazing story my friend. I might think of joining in on the free write. It is a great way to improve yourself as a writer. :)

Heyyy thank you soo much man! It means so much. I am glad you enjoyed the story. I came across the prompt about 18 hours before I wrote this story and at that time, I thought I'd write on it in some time. However, I did not think on it and thought that I may write on how I love sunsets. When I did sit to write on the prompt, I don't know the many transgenders who have been abused by the people around them came to my mind and I just came up with this. It is quite a sad story, but I too like it.

It is a sad story but you wrote in an amazing way which it does not present death as bad, but as liberation from a cruel world. I wish we can help all and accept everybody for who they are, but unfortunately, not everybody shares our opinion. :)

Thank u so much. This is one of the nicest things I have heard today.

I appreciate your willingness to tackle such a serious subject. This prompt has brought out a lot of deep thoughts and emotions. Maybe today's landmark prompt will bring more levity.

To celebrate freewrite number ✴💯✴
we have a special challenge to go along with today's prompt. Good luck and have fun! 🎈🎉

Day 100 - 5 Minute Freewrite Prompt: It was Saturday morning...

Thank you for the appreciation and I will definitely be participating in the 100th day prompt. I even asked for a partner. Haven't found one yet.

Wow. This could be about my own grandfather. He was forced to leave home at fifteen. He went west and worked in a logging camp in Washington. Thanks for sharing.

Oh wow. So how was his experience when he left his home? Thanks for being here.

The issues were resolved when he got older, but I never knew his dad (my great-grandfather).

I can feel the pain in the story.
But forgive I'd like to give you my honest opinion:
I dont think it's a good idea to make suicide look like a relief, I know it's not your intention, but that can promote the idea and make it look like a possible solution. No matter how hard the world is and crual the life is, suicide is nothing but even more pain and a big waste of ones life.

Hey thanks for stopping by and writing this meaningful comment. Means a lot :)

And I am glad you gave your honest two cents on it. I am always happy about honest feedback and insight. I did not make suicide look like a relief. It was for the character, but not for anyone else. I do not support suicide in any way and for a long time, I used to believe that those who do commit suicide are cowards. However, the 'coward' viewpoint changed some time back when I realized that taking your life is a very courageous thing to do. I don't support of it and I don't think that's beneficial but it requires some serious guts so I cannot label those who commit suicide as cowards. Nonetheless, I believe people should consider moving back towards life and not ending it. That requires even more courage I believe and is not easy especially if there aren't any supportive people around you. As for this story, I was just thinking about the character. When writing stories, you do come up with different characters and each one of them has its own story and feelings so I think you need to follow that. I have written another mostly sad story, but its ending was different. You can read that here to see for yourself. But do get what you were trying to say and I appreciate that. :)

It is interesting to me that I missed the whole aspect of suicide being part of the ending. I had to go back and reread it to figure out what was being talked about here. I was thinking more about transcending or transforming suffering and letting go of all aspects of self and belief that cause it. In a way it feels to me that it is only when we have fully let go of our suffering and are willing in a sense to die each day, that we can truly begin to live.

In a way it feels to me that it is only when we have fully let go of our suffering and are willing in a sense to die each day, that we can truly begin to live.

These profound thoughts are why I am so in love with your work. I am speechless right now. Will ponder more on it and then give a proper reply.

Great story, I like the way you write and a good issue to tackle while you're at it, the world needs further inclusion, tolerance, and acceptance. Thank you for sharing this

You are welcome. Thank you for all the lovely words!

This post is sponsored by @appreciator in collaboration with #steemitbloggers. Keep up the good work

Good story. I like your story. Thanks.

You are welcome. Thanks for stopping by :)

Sharoon - you are such an amazing writer!! I am always so happy when you have the time to write with us.
And yes, isn't it amazing how the freewrite has grown!! And you were there from almost the beginning :)

Aww Marianne! I seriously love you and each time you appreciate me, I feel really overwhelmed with happiness. Thanks so much for all the support. Yeah, I am so proud of the freewrite curriculum and so happy I joined it in the early days.

What a sad and all too common story. Families/parents turning away their children for things that they didn't even choose to be. You captured+++ this well. Thank you for sharing.
@byn

I know it was sad. I didn't want it to be but it just led to that. Thank you for stopping by :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64741.88
ETH 3457.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.55