5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Round is a shape

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

pottery.png

Seth sat back and looked at his work. The lump of grey clay sitting on the potter's wheel could be considered abstract art at best and utter failure at worst. Despite nearly two weeks of practice, he still hadn't managed to created a smooth, symmetrical piece. At this rate, he wouldn't finish his wife's anniversary gift until next year. And surely, by then, she would realize that he wasn't just picking up a new hobby, that he was learning to make her a gift. He sighed and began wiping his hands on the towel near his knee.

"Ooh, what is it?" Vera beamed, setting a glass of lemonade onto the nearby workbench. She examined the worked clay with genuine interest.

He smiled despite his frustration. His wife had always been able to do that. Her smile was infectious and she radiated a positive energy that softened even his worst moments.

"A bowl," Seth answered.

She adjusted her glasses and walked around the wheel, looking at the creation from every angle. She pursed her lips slightly before finally looking back to him.

"Well, it's certainly interesting! I'm not quite sure how to describe its shape. Sort of..."

"It's round."

"Yes! Round is a shape. Yes." She nodded appraisingly. "A wonderful first attempt!"

"Fourth," he corrected, his mood dampening. "My fourth attempt."

She put an arm around his shoulders and gave him a kiss, still smiling her radiant smile.

"And I'm sure the next one will be magnificent!"

He squeezed her hand and smiled back at her, her words fueling his determination. No matter how long it took, he would make a magnificent gift for his beloved.


This prompt was provided by @mariannewest and can be found here.


Imaged sourced from Pixabay.

Sort:  

Great stuff. I thought I was reading the 'bowl' prompt until I realised I wasn't.

True love inspires, and also only expects love back. Good post

Love is where beauty is found.

I really enjoyed this one, those small interactions between couples expressing genuine care, they don't happen all the time but I know those kind of moments with my wife are usually what makes my day worthwhile!

It's all of those little moments that end up being the most important. :-)

This was an amazing story! Thank you so much for sharing =)

I thought today's prompt was pretty difficult but you tackled it with ease! It'd be great if you checked it out =) let me know your thoughts in the comments


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mkkenny13/dailyfreewritechallenge-day-98-round-is-a-shape

Love the guys determination on wanting to make her the perfect gift, and his wife keeping his spirit up about what he is making, not knowing it is something special he is making, just for her.

His determination to give her his very best is incredibly sweet! It's true that a smile from someone you love can be a powerful motivator!

I realize that you have already written today's prompt but, I really want to show off my ride!

Today I'm riding along in a 1954 Bentley R-Type Continental being driven by a very stylish skeleton detective. He's helping me travel through the town of Freewrite to deliver Marianne's prompt to you.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-99-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-sunset

This was great!!!! So many prompts in one piece! bowing in awe 😃

One of these days I want to try to create something out of clay and then fire it into a keepsake. I've always been impressed with such things when done by hand with the artists signature or seal etched literally in stone. 👍 😎

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 68140.53
ETH 3250.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65