Contagion! @mariannewest, FreewritesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my first participation in @mariannewest's freewrite.
The prompt is bacteria. I just let my imagination wander and came up with this short piece--a little bit of paranoia :)



sickness.jpg
image from Pixabay


Contagion!

It is hard to go out now. I am so aware of the invisible creatures that lurk—on the elevator button, in the stale air that remains in the elevator from an occupant who has left this space, but not entirely. There is possibly a trace, a noxious element I cannot see. Bacteria. They lurk. I know they do.

I push the button while my finger is covered with the sleeve of my coat. My breath is shallow...this is sorry protection against the invisible danger. I can almost feel them invading my lungs. The stale air is an offense to my sense. But breathe I must.

I leave the elevator, gasping for air I deprived myself on the brief elevator ride. I break free, into the open fresh air. And then...

He coughed. He passed close to me and coughed as he walked by. I was breathing! No time to protect myself. Oh, no. I feel sick.

I must go home.


Sort:  

Welcome to our happy freewriting crew and you're off to a flying start. I must admit to covering my hand with my sleeve when opening doors and pressing lift buttons. You can't be too careful;)

Thank you! :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Thank you very much!

This is an EXCELLENT first freewrite -- had me feeling itchy and wondering what was lurking around me! Well done!

Thank you so much!

Love it!! And isn't that how it happens. We are so careful and then... the big sneezer, cougher, germ spreader comes by 😱 😂

This was fun. Thank you!

Great job with this, @pokerm! You are a natural. Keep coming back to freewrite please.

@tipu curate 3

The older I get the more conscious I am of lingering bacteria.... ewww. I work in a call center where everyone comes to work sneezing and coughing because the attendance policy hurts you for every call off unless you have FMLA.

Posted using Partiko Android

That sounds like a horrible situation!
Thank you for stopping by :)

My pleasure and you struggle to keep well there for sure.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94