Day 543: 5 Minute Freewrite: Tuesday - Prompt: born

in #freewrite5 years ago

IMG_20190416_131604757.jpg

I'm going to cheat. Well, since there are no hard and fast rules I suppose it's not exactly cheating, but there it is. I confess. I'm cheating on this freewrite.

I've been entering the literary achievement award contest @freewritehouse. I love this contest because I get to revisit some of the stuff I wrote that is now past payout. One of the things I don't like about Steem is that my stuff is essentially archived after a couple days - who is going to read something on Steem if they have no chance of making even a penny or two? This I find sad, and when I get a chance to say so, I do.

When I read today's prompt for the freewrite, the first thing I thought of was a story I wrote several months ago for @jayna fifty word story contest. I had been struggling to write a story for the prompt "journey" for a few days. But during a deep sleep, just before January sixth dawned, Befana brought me a dream that allowed this story, which I consider to be fabulous, to pop out the next morning. It was truly inspired if I do say so myself.

I just love this story for a bunch of reasons, so here it is again. Maybe some actual humans might read it this time. To be fair, @jayna did read it way back then. Fifty words. Count 'em.

Its journey was arduous.
At first a few futile attempts were made. There was potent competition! There was self-doubt! Drat that passive voice!
Sometime after midnight on Epiphany Eve the goddesses of the wild visited a dream, gloriously leading the way.
In the morning, shining bright, the story was born.


Here's the link to the original https://steemit.com/fiftywords/@owasco/a-wild-night


This is my entry to @mariannewest freewrite challenge
https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-543-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-born

Thank you for stopping by!


The image is mine of a useless thing I picked up in an antiques shop. I do that. I have lots of useless things.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing again and I feel it an honor to be the first human commenting here :) There are times I have dreamed too what to write, or gotten these inspiring messages and found them miraculous in their creativity and message and not had anyone else pay attention to them. I was once talking to an artist about how my best poetry seemed to be looked over and how they ooooowwwed and awwwed over the ones I thought weren't so great. Anyway, he said, "Welcome to the world of art!" I never forgot that. Keep creating what comes, perhaps some day in the future it'll be appreciated?
Okay, probably a longer than fifty words response!
Kimberly

Aw...
Welcome to the world of art. Such a different world than the one most of us learn to judge ourselves in! In art we have to learn to use our own metric, and it's n dimensional. I just looked up metric to make sure I was using it right and the definition/sample sentence is a standard of measurement
no metric exists that can be applied directly to happiness.

Art is happiness.

One of my earliest posts on steem was this haiku, with the heading advice by haiku for steemit newbies. It's another one I think is really good, and no one read it. So I keep resurrecting it in comments, bringing it back from the blockchain's graveyard of past payout posts. Forgive me!

In the beginning
I placed my most treasured work
and no one noticed

Love it! I think I'm going to write it on a small piece of paper and hang where I can read as inspiration to following our own metric in the pursuit of happy, artFULL living! XO

I am so glad that you shared this story again. You have reason to be proud. Personally, I don’t see anything wrong with republishing a piece we liked a lot.

Posted using Partiko iOS

Well that is the sweetest way I know to earn an SBI. Thank you!

The 50 word story is fabulous and I am glad you found the opportunity to make it shine once again. Even though I am a cat, I hope I count for reading your story. LOL!

Resident cat here, wishing you many more fabulous stories to be born. Here is today's new prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-544-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-horrific

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

Yes! Cats count! I actually have a few human-like friends who are cats and they go around purring and meowing all the time.
Thank you for your comment and upvote! Cats rule

Yay! Cats count and cats rule! Love it! : )

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62817.54
ETH 2573.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.74