A Wild Night

in #fiftywords6 years ago (edited)

Its journey was arduous.

At first a few futile attempts were made. There was potent competition! There was self-doubt! Drat that passive voice!

Sometime after midnight on Epiphany Eve the goddesses of the wild visited a dream, gloriously leading the way.

In the morning, shining bright, the story was born.


This is my submission to @jayna fiftywords contest for the prompt "journey". Thank you for reading!

Sort:  

Oh my gosh, I see what you did there, @owasco. The story is the character. The passive voice is the conflict. In paragraph three, the story breaks free of the passive voice with the help of goddesses of the wild. And finally it is born. This is truly clever!

It truly came to me in a dream! How fun is that!

And I had a problem with the word count. I counted 49 words but the computer counts in two places were 50. So I parsed the dang thing, counted it manually piece by piece and compared to the piece-wise computed count. Eventually I figured out that a dash is counted as word! Good to know.

Wow, really it came to you in a dream? Incredible. That likely means you are in a very creative mental space. Ride the wave!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Making the story the character came to me in a dream just last night - I've been trying to write about various journeys since you first posted the contest. I used the passive voice because my passivity was part of my problem - I felt very intimidated by several of the entries. Then this morning I saw a video about the witches of old going about their business on epiphany eve, which this is, so I added their presence to the story. It still took me hours, but that was also the fun part. Thank you so much for appreciating it as you have.

I really enjoy the editing process. Toying with various word combinations and how to best convey an idea until I get it just right is incredibly rewarding. I’m so glad you enjoy it too, and that you’ve joined this challenge!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62659.86
ETH 2534.03
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63