A Church Lady's Special Day

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is a continuation of one of my earliest freewrites: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@owasco/day-455-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-church-lady


The next time he visited, David brought a bouquet of carnations, pink, red and mostly white, in a sweet antique vase he had picked out just for Evelyn of a periwinkle blue. The resulting colors were both garish and sophisticated, and pulling off this feat was one of his super powers. Despite his obvious flair with color, David dressed somberly, which Evelyn pointed out every single time he visited.

Today he had stuck one pink carnation sprig in his lapel.

"Why I do think someone has put a bit of color in his attire today! And carnation pink too! My favorite color!"

David had a "Carnation Caramel Cream Chess Pie" in hand. His mother's recipe and his mother's name for it. He remembered his mother using the phrase as a singing exercise, and whenever he baked one he could distantly hear his mother sultry voice: "the better to sing the word 'kissss!'"

David loved to bake cakes, the richer the better. Of course Evelyn had been told to stop eating such things, but once a year on her birthday she allowed herself one slice.


This is my entry for @mariannewest's freewrite challenge https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-593-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-carnation. If you haven't tried your hand at this, I highly recommend it. Freewriting has transformed my life. Take the plunge!


A real deal freewrite, five minutes plus a bit to tidy it up. I swear, even considered and polished piece of mine that gets more than ten votes and a dollar doesn't give me the thrill that writing these babies does. AND I got a new voice exercise to work on my 'k's' with. Bonuses like that only come when I'm really in the flow, no judgment, letting them out.

Sort:  

🏆 Hi @owasco! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @owasco :) | For investors.

Oooh, I love it! And somehow I suspect "Carnation Caramel Cream Chess Pie" came straight from real life. I love the periwinkle blue vase (an antique, no less!) and the audacity of mixing pink and red. I totally believe he pulled it off. And I love it that you call this one of his superpowers. Now I'm dying for more David who bakes cakes!) and Evelyn (who is going to allowe herself a slice). Will she stop at just one? How else will David tempt her? That pink boutonnière - anything could happen!

Nope. Made it up. Just tried to make it sound as rich as I possibly could, then saw it had some handy alliteration with a consonant I myself am struggling to sing, so that part came from real life. But not the pie! I would hate that pie. I'm a bittersweet chocolate gal.

Five months!!! Has it really been that long!

I was surprised too. It seems like I just wrote that one, but it's really going back there to my beginnings as a fiction writer. I remember when I wrote it I thought of a fabulous ending, where not-yet-David was totally wrong about what Evelyn was talking about, and hopefully the audience would be totally wrong about what they were thinking about both characters, and I planned someday to continue the story. But I can't remember what my brilliant ending was!

@owasco I could go for a slice of Carnation Caramel Cream Cheese Pie, I bet it tastes as good as it sounds.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.32
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66384.36
ETH 3272.25
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.27