The Hell's Itch Sunburn! - A Freewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

LogoStripSmaller.gif

     This is a tale about the worst sunburn I ever had. In hindsight, every decision I made was the wrong one. The first bad decision I made was not paying attention when I bought the sunscreen. Turns out, I bought tan accelerator instead. Oh, well, I thought, I just won't lay out as long. I just saved myself some time. Way to go!

     Which led to my next mistake. You're still supposed to use tan accelerator with some sort of sun protection. Plus you should also use moisturizer. I used neither. Whoops.

     My last mistake was probably laying out for too long. It's hard to tell how tan you are when you're still outside. It wasn't until I got inside that I realized I might be in trouble.

     This all led to an unpleasant experience I never even knew existed. It struck at the worst time, too. While I was driving. That unpleasant experience was Hell's Itch. What is hell's itch? Well, for me, it felt like thousands of fire ants crawling all over my back. My back rubbing against the car seat is what irritated the sunburn.

     Boy, that was a fun drive. Fortunately, I was heading home. But I was that driver who was weaving through traffic, speeding, cutting people off, and probably getting a few middle fingers. I didn't care. I just needed to get home!

     When I got home, I finally found relief by standing in the shower and letting cool water wash over my back. Ahhhhhhhh. Somewhere, there's probably a lesson to be learned here. Maybe.

LogoStripSmaller.gif

Thank you @MarianneWest for another great #freewrite challenge! To join the fun, click HERE!

SkyBadge.JPG
Thank you @fireawaymarmot for the Over 20 Club badge!

SteemHome-FreewriteLogo.JPG

Sort:  

Poor Omra! (And I thought having an itch in my foot while driving was terrible!) Though it does sound like you've shared another page in the book of Skydoofus! 😉 Bet you learned to pay more attention to the labels after that! 😁

As a vampire, there have been times that avoiding the sunlight was not an option. To prevent having my own flame broiled experience, I turn to:

An itchy foot while driving can strike any time, without warning! Funny how our memories change over time. I remember the Coppertone girl differently.

Ha! Did your memories change or are you now seeing what she really is? Maybe that dog was trying to stop her from claiming another victim! LOL

Oh oh,sorry about that..good thing you drove and arrived home safely even in that condition.
The name though,hell's itch lol

Yeah, it's a very accurate name, indeed.

Whoops! LOL! Hells Itch? LOL! I will have to remember that one! Did you learn your lesson? Knowing you, probably not. HaHa! : )

Yes. I learned never to trust myself. It's worked out pretty well since. 😉

Thanks for the laughter! You brought back hellish memories. Lessons learned!

You're very welcome. Thank you for reading!

🤗

Having trouble sleeping?

Yeah. You? This is good to listen to so I thought you may like it.

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by OmraSky from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

That must have been horrible. Anything to do with the skin hurts bad. Sunburn is a killer :(

Agreed. Irritated skin can be soo painful. So many nerves.

Being very fair skinned and subject to burn easily I can definitely relate. One of my worst was having to go work a 12 hr. shift at a steam plant where it was like a sauna inside lol. I'm glad to see that you survived the ordeal! 👍

Just think, some people pay a lot of money to have a similar experience.

After working for years in that type atmosphere, the thought of paying for it never appealed to me lol. 😏

Today your prompts are being delivered by a young, spindly legged Gerenuk who has recently moved to the town of Freewrite. (We handed him the bag, told him it was tradition that each new resident upheld, then went to luau!)

Freewrite Day 129 - Fingernail

I imagine a Gerenuk, even a spindly legged one, could do an efficient job of delivering those prompts. Assuming it can read addresses, of course.

hahaha - there could be a lesson!! make sure to grow some Aloe Vera to put on this sunburns!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 58009.23
ETH 3063.14
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34