The Bananish Jar! (A Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

     @Improv stared at the unusual looking mason jar. What held his gaze on the seemingly empty jar were four strange symbols etched evenly into the glass, 90 degrees apart. Around the edge of the lid, an alien language could be seen. He reaches for it. Seeing the extra growth of hair on his hand told him that a full moon was coming soon.

     The very old man behind the counter had one milky-white eye. As Improv approached with the mason jar, he glared suspiciously with the good one. "Ah...do you know what that is? It's a Bananish Jar. Used during the time of King Solomon to trap conjured demons."

     "But it'll hold jam, right?"

     "Uh...well, I suppose. But-"

     "Great! I'll take it." Improv interrupted. "Have you ever had snookfruit jam? @SimGirl makes the best! I'll bring you some."

     The old man suddenly appeared to get younger. "You fool! If you open that jar, you will unleash whatever nightmare is trapped inside. A horror unlike anything you could possibly ever imagine!"

     "Look, pal. That's a typical Tuesday at my house." Quipped Improv. "Besides, the moon comes out early this time of year. It would be in your best interest if I weren't here when it does." Improv then grinned, revealing impossibly large canines.

     The man now appeared even older than before. His one good eye with a new, gray tint to it. "Very well. That'll be four seventy-five."

     "Keep the change." Improv handed the man a five dollar bill, whistling a happy tune as he exited the antique shop. Bananish Jar in hand.

LogoStripSmaller.gif

Special thanks to @MarianneWest for hosting this daily #freewrite challenge. I highly encourage everyone reading this to participate. Today's prompt is HERE!

All images and videos are my own

Sort:  

LOL!! tip! I love how Improv wasn't phased at all by the prospect of demonic mayhem! 😂

My favorite part though was:

It would be in your best interest if I weren't here when it does."

Mmm..snookfruit jam... 😋 I know I'm supposed to be on a diet but, these addictions are hard to kick!

Thank you. I heard you and @f3nix may have put on a few pounds. 😋

Soo nonchalant and unconcerned. I love the extra growth of hair and canines lol. Now that's a mason jar! nice work!

I was totally expecting bananas to be featured somehow, LOL. Nice way to include Steemit pals in there.
Hey, here's today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-117-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-church

"Great! I'll take it." Improv interrupted. "Have you ever had snookfruit jam? @SimGirl makes the best! I'll bring you some."

Thank You!! and I can not wait to see what happens when the jar is open!!!!!!!!!!

I think werewolves can handle puny old demons!

Of course, having read the sequel, I needed to go here and read how it all started. :)

Only you would think of a "bananish jar." LOL! And @improv's typical Tuesday at his house...HaHa! Now what demons will @improve release...I wonder. : )

Ha. This house bring out my creativity. 😁

I can see that! I want more...bring it on @omra-sky! : )

Wow! That's so...bananish! I like crazy freewrites like this, they make me go bananas!

Thank you. What happens when you mix snookfruit jam with demon residue? Stay tuned.

Hi @omra-sky! You have received 0.1 SBD tip + 0.01 SBD @tipU from @brisby :)

@brisby wrote lately about: The Dress. Feel free to follow @brisby if you like it :)

Tipuvote! - upvote any post with with 2.5 x profit :)

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by OmraSky from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67334.81
ETH 3235.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64