5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: fire

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Umbrella

I'm lying on the beach and enjoying the sun on my skin, it's the first day of my vacation and the weather couldn't be better for it.

Just the sun, the surf, and a weird barbecue smell that's starting to really cling to my nostrils.

The sun's so much pleasantly warm now as it is uncomfortably warm, verging on too damned hot. My chest is starting to hurt, too.

It really smells like something is burning. I get up, fold up my chair and pack up my belongings to move off the beach and into the shade, but now it's getting downright painful to breath.

I cough and sit up in bed. The room is full of smoke. I roll over and fall out of the bed. My limbs aren't just heavy from sleep, I'm so damned loopy that I can barely stand. I take a few steps and fall over again. My biggest concern is getting away from the heat and the smoke to get some air.

What's that thing they tell you to do? Stay low to get under the smoke?

No, that can't be right, carbon dioxide and carbon monoxide are going to sink down there and there wont be any oxygen. I try to stand up, fresh pain stabs my lungs as I lurch forward and crash into the wall again. I manage to push the door open, and the hallway isn't as full of smoke as the bedroom. I'm starting to become more lucid now.

What's the source of all this smoke?

I turn around to close the bedroom door, but there's no fire or smoke now, but I remember I'm late for class and I haven't finished my homework. No, that can't be right, I've been out of school for over a decade!

Fresh panic consumes me, but when I open my eyes all I can see is a bright light and an oxygen mask coming into focus and moving towards my face.


The original post with today's prompt from @mariannewest is here.

I have to admit that I cheated a little bit on this one, the timer went off and then I typed the last sentence. When I use my phone for a time it gives me a nice little warning at the ten second mark, but I was using my desktop to do the timer and it didn't alert me until the time had expired.

Here are some of my other free writes:

Image is my own.

~~ Thanks for Reading ~~

Sort:  

No, it's not a true story, just the result of the randomly meandering pathways sparked by the prompt.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 59401.87
ETH 2615.39
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.40