Normal to the World - Freewrite Day 594 Entry & SBI Giveaway - Prompt: Not Normal

in #freewrite5 years ago

All my life I have been outside of social norms. Or at least, that was how I felt in my youth. I never really fit in, was always the awkward nerdy kid. But, I made friends, and had sports, and found my own way to enjoy doing things.

As I have aged, I've truly embraced my abnormality. I don't like certain aspects of social norms, and reject them. That tends to cause problems, but I think that sticking to what I value is more important usually.

I also feel that the concept of normality is a problem, unless you're talking in mathematics terms. It really only creates pressure to conform, to change yourself to suit others. Being unique (or not normal) is a glorious thing. Our differences should be celebrated, not covered up. We shouldn't feel that we have to be similar to anyone else, because those kinds of compulsions move us away from our true selves.

I think a lot of the issues surrounding social conformity come from the school system. They're surprisingly toxic places for developing personalities, and I think they go a long ways towards creating problematic mentalities that can last a very long time. Hopefully someday soon school's can be accepting places for children to explore themselves and the world we share.


Greetings my fellow Earth citizens :)

Today’s prompt kind of struck a chord in me for some reason. I don’t normally write these about myself, but I don’t know, it just felt right for some reason.

To offset from my post, please enjoy this comic from Spiked Math. If you don’t know about matrix math, you may not get it, but for my nerdy self I had a good chuckle.

Source

I’ve found a really easy way to get pictures for some of the more obscure topics that I write about. Instead of going to Unsplash or Pixabay, I just search on Wikipedia, and use the picture there. So far, every one that I have seen is CC of some variety, so it works out awesomely. I highly recommend it.

I am having my FreeWrite’s be an SBI giveaway. This is a way to reward my fellow FreeWriter’s, and hopefully motivate me to do daily freewrite’s again. No promises on that, but I am going to make an attempt.

What you need to do to enter is simply comment on this post with a link to your freewrite. I will then assign you a number, and when I write the next post, I will pick using a random number generator. There’s no need to resteem or upvote, though it would be helpful to allow me to do this contest for longer.

I am also hosting another contest if you would like to enter that as well. Everyone is welcome :)

Looking Back/ Looking Forward SBI Contest

Until next time,

Aloha


Here are the results from the previous giveaway:

@mrscwin: Entry #1 - https://partiko.app/@mrscwin/healing-mama-with-milkshakes-peweyhi5

@fitinfun: Entry #2 - https://steemit.com/busy/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-593-carnation

@wonderwop: Entry #3 - https://steemit.com/dtube/@wonderwop/8qfiitt3

@whatisnew: Entry #4 - https://steemit.com/freewrite/@whatisnew/day-594-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-not-normal

I used Google’s Random Number Generator (if someone has a preferred method let me know) and got 2. So @fitinfun, you are the lucky winner and get 1 SBI.

Thank you both for your entries, I enjoyed reading them, and I look forward to your next one.


Here are the people who have responded with their own freewrites and entered my contest. You should definitely check out these awesome writers :)

@wonderwop, @fitinfun, @owasco, @carolkean, @creativesoul, @samioli, @mrscwin, @whatisnew


This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these.

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-594-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-not-normal

Prompt: “Not Normal"


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.



Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

As a writer who's met a lot of fellow writers, and as the wife of an electrical engineer, I'm amazed at how MANY people say they felt like misfits, nonconformists, the odd man out - like, does anyone ever say, "I feel normal, and I fit in with other people"--? I'm beginning to wonder how many people do NOT feel like misfits! I love the math cartoon even though I don't understand what about the fourth guy makes him not fit in with the other three. Matrix math. I showed my husband and even he didn't get it! Thank you for your contests and please let me know if it ever helps build readership. That said, here is my latest link: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@carolkean/mom-s-cousin-lenna-part-six-ish-day-595-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-trot

Haha you know, that is an excellent point. I guess probably some people are better at it than others, but I'm sure everyone feels different sometimes. I just wish that feeling could be embraced and celebrated for the good thing that it is.

I'm glad you enjoyed the comic :) if you like that kind of humor, I'd definitely suggest checking out XKCD. Tons of science and math based jokes :)

Thank you for entering :) You are entry #1

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh, you remind me now that I never googled what the comic means - all those numbers - the only ones I recognized were the ones and zeroes of computer coding. As for feeling like a misfit, I wondered if I'm drawn to fellow misfits, and so I don't really seem to know anyone who feels like "I fit in!" - and yet most people probably imagine (or "know") that they fit in. They belong. Hmm. Do I avoid those types and gravitate to introverts and hermits? Are you surrounded by people who seem to belong or fit in...? No need to answer. Your post just got me wondering. Thanks! Espe: I'm sure everyone feels different sometimes. I just wish that feeling could be embraced and celebrated for the good thing that it is.

It's basically about a principal of matrices that allows for a lot of different mutations to the numbers in it.

Hmm. That's an interesting question. I imagine that people who feel different still gravitate towards their own circle of normality because people like to have social circles. I definitely was surrounded by people who seemed to fit in. My family and friends all did, I've never been good at finding social circles haha.

I hope you are having a great day, sorry for my slow reply time :)

Thank you once again! I love my sbi, and I am thankful to you for the contest :)

https://steemit.com/esteem/@fitinfun/freewrite-day-594-not-normal

I do not think anyone is normal, but I think I an more not-normal that most. I completely agree with you about school. If I could do it over again, I would home school my son.

You're very welcome :) thank you for entering so consistently. Ans thank you for using Steem reply. This is so handy.

You are entry #2 :)

I always wonder his drastically different my life would be if I had been home schooled, or even if I went to s different school. It makes up such a huge portion of our developmental years, I'd have to imagine it would be substantial.

🏆 Hi @nmcdougal94! You have received 0.05 SBD reward for this post from the following subscribers: @carolkean
Subscribe and increase the reward for @nmcdougal94 :) | For investors.

Congratulations @nmcdougal94! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 4000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 5000 upvotes.
You made more than 800 comments. Your next target is to reach 900 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

https://partiko.app/wonderwop/weekend-freewrite-596-successful?referrer=wonderwop

I think we need to bring back corporal punishment in schools, kids have no respect for their elders.

Posted using Partiko Android

You mean hitting kids? That's been pretty well disproven as a form of punishment. Perhaps if teachers were more worthy of respect, or if the school systems weren't setup horribly and underfunded, it wouldn't be as much of an issue.

You are entry #3.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 52827.29
ETH 2171.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.28