A Snake in the Grass - Freewrite Day 496 Entry - Prompt: Grass

in #freewrite6 years ago

Hello friends. I hope that you're doing well :)

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these, and thank you to the people who have delegated SP to me to be able to continue utilizing the Steem platform. I'm very grateful for all the support.

I’ve been challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I have made them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation, and am finding it to be a very enjoyable challenge. I’d be curious if anyone else had any other suggestions.


https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-496-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-grass-1551326559

Prompt: “Grass”


The garter snake slithered through the grass, her smooth scales gliding with ease between the blades. She was enjoying this beautiful day, exploring her corner of the world. Even though she'd been out of her egg for many cycles of the moon, she never failed to find something new.

As she moved out of the grassy meadow into the dark of the forest, her flickering tongue picked up the musty smell of the undergrowth. The decomposing leaves left a strong, earthy aroma heavy in the air. She continued along, enjoying the feel of the soft moss beneath her, until she came upon a nurse log. It has fallen long ago, and was well on its way to being reclaimed by the forest.

She came up to the log, and found a convenient hole in the side. Poking her head in,she found a nice, warm tunnel in the wood. Continuing in, she made her way deeper into the log. Eventually, she came out the top, finding herself high of the forest floor. There was a shaft of light hitting the log, piercing the canopy in the spot left by this giant tree. With a happy sigh, she coiled up in this beam of light, and decided to take a little nap amongst the trees.


I don’t know about anyone else, but I have always enjoyed finding garter snakes in the wild. Whenever I would be hiking around in the woods and come across one, I’d always spend a good amount of time trying to see it again. They would always dart off into the undergrowth and it would become a game of eye spy.

Garter snakes can be quite beautiful, as shown by this one here.

By Steve Jurvetson from Menlo Park, USA - Found under log, CC BY 2.0, Link

The coloring pattern is just magnificent, which is really surprising for a snake that isn’t poisonous.

Do you have any good stories about garter snakes you’d like to share? I’d love to hear them.


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

How nice it was to be a garter snake for a moment! - thanks for writing from the snake's perspective. I loved feeling the soft moss on my own belly then coiling up in a beam of sunlight to take a nap.
Snakes, although I am not really afraid of them, make me emit a high pitched scream every single time I first see one.

I'm glad that you enjoyed this. That was the perspective I was hoping I conveyed, it's nice to know I was successful at that.

Have you ever interacted with them more closely? I've had the pleasure of being able to hold many snakes, and I think that definitely helps with that kind of fear.

Posted using Partiko Android

It's not fear. I love snakes. It's this instant uncontrollable response I have if one of them appears suddenly, as they always seem to do even if you've been sitting right next to one for an hour. I always apologize to them for screaming, and thank the black snakes that live under my porch for doing their jobs eating mice.

Oh. Huh. Well at least after the initial response you're fine. I wonder how the snakes interpret the screaming. If it's usually the same ones, I imagine they're pretty used to it by now haha :)

Posted using Partiko Android

The snake looks super poisonous to me... 😅😅😅
I am afraid of snakes... Actually I am afraid of all reptiles...

Thank you for freewriting with us! Here's the prompt:- Day 513 : 5 Minute Freewrite: Sunday - Prompt: ceiling.

Thanks again! With love and hugs.

MomentCam_20181119125715.gif

Posted using Partiko Android

I'm fairly confident this one is not poisonous, but it's usually better to be safe than sorry. I wouldn't approach it in the wild.

Have you ever interacted with a bearded dragon? They're incredibly docile and friendly reptiles. I think they could go a long ways towards helping overcome that fear.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.16
JST 0.029
BTC 60857.34
ETH 2383.21
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.68