A Slug Tale - Freewrite Day 489 Entry - Prompt: HustlesteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

Hello friends. I hope that you're doing well :)

This is my response to the Freewrite prompt, a daily writing exercise that I am really enjoying doing. Thank you @mariannewest for hosting these, and thank you to the people who have delegated SP to me to be able to continue utilizing the Steem platform. I'm very grateful for all the support.

I’ve been challenging myself to make all of the freewrites I do match a particular theme. So far, I have made them about wild animals that tend to get a bad reputation, and am finding it to be a very enjoyable challenge. I’d be curious if anyone else had any other suggestions.


https://steempeak.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-489-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-hustle

Prompt: “Hustle”


The slug crawled out from the leaf it had been hiding under. The rainstorm had been extreme, the drops hitting fast and hard. His soft body was being pummeled, so he hustled as hard as he could to get under cover. Being a slug, that still wasn’t very fast, but he did try.

Now that the sun was out again, it was time for him to get to eating some food. He was starving. Plus, he didn’t like being exposed for very long. Birds were all too keen on a free lunch, especially because many bugs would be confused from the rainstorm. So, he prepared himself, and hustled again, climbing up the stem of the flower as fast as his foot could take him. The trail he left behind took a ton of energy, but getting up to this tasty leaf would be worth it.

As he got out onto the leaf, he started munching away. Man, this leaf was so tasty. Nothing better than a fresh leaf cleaned from the rain. His eyes kept on a swivel, literally, looking all around to make sure he stayed safe. It was lucky he was checking, because he saw the telltale shadow of something big approaching. He knew he was in danger, and slid for all he was worth. But it wasn’t fast enough, the shadow all too quickly became a huge, fuzzy creature, a dog. In came its massive, wet nose, and with a big sniff, the dog checked what he was. As the slug kept rushing to escape, the dog opened his mouth.

“This is the end,” though the slug. He prepared himself. And got a big lick, from head to tail. The dog had just wanted to say hi. With that, the slug turned back around. He crawled back out to where he was eating as the dog walked off. He went back to munching on his tasty leaf, content with the world.


This one immediately came to me, because slugs were always a despised creature at my home. I thought they were cute, with their little slime trails and slow, cautious movement. I also always loved their eye stalks.

By Guillaume Brocker - Own work, CC BY-SA 3.0, Link

I think this little one looks quite happy :)


I am looking for a partner for the we-write contest if anyone is interested. You can find details here.

If you’re interested in writing with me, please send me a message on discord, my username is nmcdougal#1503, or on Telegram.


Part of being a member of the #ccc community is having this footer on my posts. If you'd like more information about what that is, check out @freedomshift, @team-ccc, or any of the links below.

This is an Invitation to join #ccc for Guaranteed 👍 Daily Income 💵 and Payout 💸 for Newbies (2.0) 🐟 🐜 🐛 in #ccc 👣 and Follow 👣 the Honor Code 🏅 - the Creed (Conditions and Limits Inside)

AND

the latest update <<< please click to read.


Until next time,

Namaste

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

That was certainly a different take on "hustle", a very good view and rendition of the prompt. I rather enjoyed it, I thought for sure the dog was going for a snack.

I'm glad you enjoyed it :) I thought that would make a nice twist haha.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @nmcdougal94! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 90 posts. Your next target is to reach 100 posts.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

Carnival Challenge - Collect badge and win 5 STEEM

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59694.50
ETH 2603.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54