Free Write Wednesday prompt Awful Boss

in #freewrite5 years ago

This is my post for #freewrite Wednesday prompt awful boss by @mariannewest

As a young girl, I worked for my Dad in his store, he paid me 20 dollars a week, I remember taking a cigar box and wrapping it with duct tape, I put a slit in the top of it and would put my 20 dollars in through the slit. When we had to move and ended up in Missouri I cut open the box and gave my Dad the money and told him I wanted to buy a horse, which I got, her name was Sugar, she was a roan colored quarter horse. I could write many stories of our time together but will save them for now.

I married at the age of 17 and five months later had a baby, yes do the math. Three months after her birth my husband joined the Marines, after boot camp he was stationed in California, so I moved out there to be with him. I got a job at a dry cleaner. After working there for several months my babysitter's husband got transferred so I had no one to watch my daughter. My boss told me she would buy a playpen and set it up in the dry cleaners and I could keep her with me while I worked. Every one of the employees would help care for her even the boss if I was busy or not. They were awesome with her.

I have been very fortunate to have never had an awful boss. The only boss I ever got upset with was my husband when we would fish all night and right before getting to the fish house he would stop to make one more set, I mean so close I could see it. As we would pick up the net I would watch us getting closer and closer to it. I have to take that back he was not an awful boss, I understand why he did this, I was just ready to go home and he knew we needed the money.

Sort:  

Congratulations @myjob! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 2000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

That was a beautiful story @myjob, and nice that you never had an awful boss, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

@thisisawesome AWESOME, lol, glad you liked my story and thank you for the upvote.

Thanks @myjob, and thank you for creating awesome content.

Hello!!!
@myjob
Most awesome to see you posting..!!!
I've been thinking about you a lot and ❤🙏 ! Are you past the danger from Hurricane Dorian?
I starting working when I was very young too. It seems like I can't remember not working. I'm glad you didn't have awful bosses. I had one in particular. I eventually had to quit.
You are one hardworking woman 😘😊.

@annephilbrick the storm is well past us, we never put our shutters up and stayed in our trailer. We got some wind and not as much rain as we thought we would get. Now there is another storm just off the coast of Africa they say it is going to take the same path as this one did. I can not begin to think about one sitting on us as a cat 5 like it did those poor people in the Bahamas, my heart goes out for them.

I think children who are made to work at a young age become hard-working adults, like you and me.

❤😊
@myjob
From what I could figure out on the news it sounded liked you definitely missed the worst but I was thinking you were getting lots of rain and wind. I'm sooo glad everything is alright there!
The folks in the Bahamas ...absolutely so sad. What a horrific event 😥.
We definitely know how to work hard..!!
:D

Always a great story, @my job. Love you had a horse. 🐴 and good luck with bosses. 😊

@redheadpei thank you, I loved my horse, use to go on trail rides, rode her to the store and to friends houses, better than a car.

Where were you stationed in California?

Posted using Partiko iOS

@mariannewest we were in San Clemente, he was at Camp Pendelton, I like San Clemente it was a lot like my home town Sebastian Fl. This was in the early 70's

I love San Clemente!!! My daughter was born there and I loved, loved, loved it there!! We were there in the 80 s. Now, I am in San Diego - very close still :)

@mariannewest What a small world. My Son was born there too, I remember the Dr's name it was Dr. Inch he was in Malibu. After San Clemente, we moved to Oceanside which is not far from San Clemente. We lived on base there. You might know where this is at if it was still there, in San Clemente going north, as you left the part of town where all the stores were on the west side of the road was an old concrete apartments they looked to be from the day of the Spaniards, lol, I lived there for a short time, then moved to the north like a mile away on the other side of the road was two-story apartments. I could see the ocean from my living room window, I lived upstairs. I worked for the dry cleaners that was not far from the bus station, they had a drop off/pick up store in the bus station, too.

Good days. I lived very close to the downtown area. My baby was born at home with a midwife. What I loved most about that time is walking down to the beach all the time, meeting up with friends, the kids playing in the ocean... It was such a nice small town. Now all the hills going east are filled with houses - the kind of development where every house looks the same and often, they are gated communities. Not what I like but that is what all the new houses seem to be like.

@mariannewest 3 years ago my one of my daughter had a home birth, the baby was a little over 10 pounds and she is small. It got a little scary when the mid-wife told her if she did not push that baby out she was going to have to call 9-11, she gave a huge push and out he came. She said she will never have another baby at the hospital. That is terrible they built so many cookie-cutter houses there, it was such a beautiful town. I lived in walking distance of downtown. I forget the name of the road but it was the main one.

You know the value of work and saving money! You had to grow up fast at 17. Clearly you rose to the occasion and have done your job well, @myjob. :)

I love businesses that accommodate children and even dogs! Mexican restaurant often have toddlers underfoot, pushing brooms over the floor or just hanging out watching Mom and Dad work. I love seeing the families together instead of farming out kids to daycare. Who's to say daycare is better? My kids were deprived of it and all the socialization and toys that daycare provides.
I'm glad you've never suffered the 'awful boss.' You have the wisdom to see why you were worked so hard by yours. :)
(My mom allowed my dad to be the boss, and figured it was "too late" to stage a rebellion by the time the 1950s had passed and women were asserting themselves intstead of taking orders from husbands and serving them as if a wife's place is to be his servant.)

@carolkean my kids never went to daycare, when they were small I babyset for others, I did not have money to take them to the movies or anything that cost but when they got to where the youngest was two I would take them to the beach or the park all 9 of them, we had a good time together. No car seats I would just line them up in the back seat, the older ones by the doors and in the front seat.

Sounds wonderful!!
Too much daycare, too much preschool, too much of institutionalized education, is not the best for a child. I grew up on a farm, not "socialized," and I never did like the concept of kids sitting all day at desks, lining up, taking orders, keeping quiet... bless you, and your children, and all the children who were in your care! You created some fantastic memories, I'm sure.

@carolkean We had some great adventures, people would ask me how I did it and I told them when you have four of your own, five more makes no difference. And it was an income, I did not make a lot of money but what I made helped. yes, I agree kids need to be in an environment where they can challenge their imagination and get their hands dirty.

Lenore Skenazy... Free Range Kids....
Lysol kills germs and can kill our own natural immune systems....

@carolkean I have never heard of Lenore Skenazy so I googled her, I like her way of thinking but I do not think I could let a 9 year old ride the subway home, maybe it was ok when I was young but today we have too many creeps, I like the idea of it but it is not worth the chance of them being abducted. Yes to many things have germ killing ingredients in them which I think is making the germs stronger.

I am glad to hear you rode out the storm successfully. Wow, you dove right into the adult life at an early age. I look forward to more tales about your horse!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60938.00
ETH 2386.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.57