The core values I tought (and still teach) my kids (5 Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago

Today's #freewrite prompt (by @mariannewest) got me triggered once again as soon as I read it. As a father of two kids, I have a strong opinion on that topic.

What are core values?

For me, every kid should be equipped with a set of core values. I educate(d) my kids with a few simple ones:

  • be polite
  • always say "hello" and "goodbye"
  • no one ever got hurt for saying "thanks" or "please"
  • respect others, no matter where they come from - we all are humans!
  • always ask before taking something, especially if you are a guest 
  • have a helping hand whenever possible/needed
  • respect rules, be it at home or be it outside
  • respect nature, be it plants or animals (we are only guest on this planet)

It was - no, it is - a process of constant repeating and reminding our kids to respect and actually keep this values alive. Every day, when I see them keeping this core values with them, is a good day. And a gentle reminder when they hurt one or more of them always brings them back on the right track. That's how I educate and guide my kids. 

What are the core values in your family? I would love to hear them in the comments.

image credit

What is this Freewrite thing?

Sort:  

Congrats for a job will done on teaching the kids. Keep on #freewriting.

thanks, will do as long as I have time for it :)

I was so excited that I forgot to send you this Tip!

thank you! will have a look at it later when I have more time.

Great freewrite! I wrote about parenting today as well. My kids are grown now, but I was always very careful to parent 'on purpose' and with intention. It sounds like you have a good thing going :)

thanks a lot. I just read yours. Like I wrote already there, respect for educating 5 kids. Sometimes, we are struggling to do so with our two already...

You have wonderful core values that you teach your kids and with these, they will go far in their lives. Since I am a nature lover, I am so happy to hear that you teach your kids to respect nature. Good for you @msicc!

Resident cat here, enjoying nature while delivering today's prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-251-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-players

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thanks a lot 😊

You have been featured in this week's Freewrite Favorites Volume #13 by @freewritehouse

THUMBfreewriteFavorites2-VOL.png

Congratulations! Keep up the great writing!

Thanks once again, and keep up your great curation job as well!

Hi @msicc! You have received 0.1 SBD tip from @whatisnew!

@whatisnew wrote lately about: Day 249: 5 Minute Freewrie: Monday-Prompt: Bath And Summer Feel free to follow @whatisnew if you like it :)

@tipU voting service | For investors.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 64821.33
ETH 3466.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51