The Green Panic Button (Story)

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

mhlgtpi3kh.jpg

"Why is the panic button green?" I asked.

"New regulations, sir. They feel that red is too dramatic," said the security guard, Tom.

"Too dramatic?" I responded. "If you don't mind me saying so, it is meant to be dramatic. It's a panic button for pity's sake."

"Don't moan at me, sir. The regulations come from above. They don't want everything to be red."

"At least it says 'panic' on the button," I said. "In small letters, I might add. It may have been better to have put it in large capital letters."

"The message from above, is that capital letters is a form of shouting. Again, they don't want too much drama," said Tom.

"I think I would like to speak to the people above," I said. "Do you have a phone number?"

"I believe all complaints need to be done online."

"That will take ages," I said. "I really would like to talk to someone."

"I have a phone number you can use," said Tom. He put his finger on his lips.

"Thank you, Tom. I'll give them a ring now."

"Hello," I said. "Why is the panic button green?"

The person on the end of the line answered

"If you don't mind me saying so," I replied, "I would have thought that the panic button would have needed to be dramatic. Next you'll be telling me that all the warning signs should be blue."

Tom interrupted me.

"Next year, I believe, sir. All of our warning signs will be blue with comic sans font."

"Bollocks," I replied. "In fact, I would like a big blue button that says bollocks."

"Look on the bright side," said Tom. "You still have a functioning panic button, even if it is green."

"True," I replied.

"What will you do?" asked Tom.

511hbrrj1z.jpg

Thank you for reading

Day 699: 5 Minute Freewrite: Thursday - Prompt: no panic

Sort:  

pocketsend:11@mr-neil, play around with the token of fun - POCKET!

Successful Send of 11
Sending Account: pode
Receiving Account: mr-neil
New sending account balance: 263084
New receiving account balance: 10
Fee: 1
Steem trxid: 835e1aa364be86bcb57029771000942a527c5162


pocket-logo.png

Someone sent you some POCKET tokens. POCKET is an experimental sub-token system which operates on the Steem blockchain. It's like having a custom token without SMT. You can also send some to someone else by just commenting on a post with the following command: pocketsend:number_of_token@recipient_name,memo for example to send 10 tokens to @pocketjs, make a comment starting with: pocketsend:10@pocketjs,This is a gift

I am running Pocket-JS confirmer code.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63103.76
ETH 2556.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.82