I'd Rather Be Invaded By Mars

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

kmdd3lbqc7.jpg

"There's no law and order," I said.

"What do you mean, there's no law and order?" asked my good friend

"That's exactly what I mean. It has all gone. Vanished, with the wind. Instead, we have chaos. We weren't promised it, but it's what we have."

"How did this happen?" asked my friend.

"I think this has happened over time," I explained. "It all appeared to be stable, and strong. But too many people in power are in it for themselves. It is like they have concocted a long plan to gain more power."

I then pause briefly. A moment of silence that could cut the air with a knife.

"But do you know what?" I added. "I don't want to think about it anymore. I want to escape. I want this story to be based more on fantasy than reality."

"I'm not sure I follow," admitted my friend.

"There's no law and order, because one day, from out of nowhere, some aliens from Mars invaded us. The chances of this was so remote, but it happened. It really did scare a lot of people."

"But that wasn't real," said my friend.

"It wasn't real, you are correct. However, the storyteller did such a great job of making everyone feel like it was real, it scared a lot of people."

"I'm not sure that's a good thing," said my friend.

"No, but goes to show how easy it is to fool people, especially if you have the right tools to do it."

I paused again, realising that I'm returning too close to reality. I wanted to tell a story to allow myself and the audience to escape.

I eventually continue.

"I think being invaded by Mars, would be better than what is happening right now."

"I'm not sure if being invaded by Mars would be the better of two evils," said my friend.

"You're not sure though, are you?"

sq4dtjfci7.jpg

Thank you for reading.

Link to task:
Day 714: 5 Minute Freewrite: Friday - Prompt: law and order

Website featuring my favourite freewrite stories
Mr Neil’s Stories

Facebook Page which you can like and share if you so wish
Mr Neil World Of Stories Facebook Page

YouTube Channel featuring recordings of some of my favourite stories
YouTube Channel

Sort:  

I can't say if I'm sure myself either!

It's a toughie :-)

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

This kind of reminds me of David Icke's tendency to talk about mankind being invaded by aliens 🙂

~ @chrisrice

This post was manually curated by @upmewhale, in combined efforts with the eSteem curation team to bring further support to our valued Steem community! Post curated, courtesy of @horpey

~ eSteem Curation Team

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64136.70
ETH 3128.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94