Any Old Story (Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Any Old Story (Freewrite Story)

Prompt: Light provided by @mariannewest

5 Minute Freewrite Task

The storytelling light has gone out. Usually, I'd leave it for another day, but I want to try a new app. Therefore, I am selling out and will write a story anyway. I don't care if it is good or bad.

I’m going to switch off the light and go sleep. Goodnight.

That's it, that's your story. I promise you that I will sleep for 8 hours straight.

2 hours later

Only 6 more hours until the alarm. I am still sleeping.

Another hour later

3 hours into the night. 5 more until the alarm goes.

Later again

I get woken up by a seagull. I check the window.

Is it still dark? I can see that it is slowly getting lighter. Maybe, I'll go and watch the sunrise. The beach is only a 5 minute walk. Then I'll come back home for more sleep.

I get dressed and walk to the beach. I hear seagulls and the sound of the sea. It gives me a feeling of peace. I can sit on the seawall and just watch the moon, the sun, the sea. Nature at its finest. I am so lucky.

image

However, something feels wrong. There are boats in the bay. Nothing unusual about that. But I can hear gunfire. They are shooting at each other.

Now I can hear the sound of aeroplanes. Low flying war machines.

I think it might be better if I leave. I'm going to run home.

Then, as I am running, a bomb falls right in front of me. But it has not exploded yet.

Beep, beep, beep, beep.

That's my alarm. I better switch it off. I've slept straight through. I'm sorry that I have no story for you but I needed the rest.

Let's write one now. What shall I write about?

I have an idea.

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

Some Recorded Freewrite Stories

Here are my last 2 recorded stories.

The Most Beautiful Story

Prompt: see you on the other side

Remaking The Movie

Prompt: door knob

freewrite-mr-neil.jpg

5 Minute Freewrite task conceived by @mariannewest and @improv

Banner created by @ameliabartlett.

Pictures copyright free from Pixabay

Sort:  

HaHa! You wrote a story while sleeping for 8 hours. This was soooooo good! : )

Thank you so much. It's been recorded too but I haven't had a moment to release it. Hopefully tonight.

Ah ha, the old story about writing a story trick. Well executed m’dear.
It’s Wednesday again so here I am with your prompt for today: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-307-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-bulb

Win a Membership in Steem Basic Income - Tell us About a Favorite Freewrite

You're kidding me right? You actually have no story but ended up writing a story and that's so amazing. 😎😎😎😍😍
Sometimes you think you're sleeping and dreaming while practically in the real world, I mean the other way round though.

Thank you for your comment. Yes, the trick is that; if there is no idea, write about it. Its amazing what comes out.

Congratulations, you have been featured in the weekly Freewrite Favorites post by @freewritehouse You can find your post here: Freewrite Favorites, Volume 20

Thank you so much, very nice to be nominated.
😎😎😎
Let's go have a look

Clever! Ha ha I really enjoyed that shift in reality @mr-neil - please, keep writing

Thank you and don't worry, I won't be stopping. I'm considering to record a read aloud for this story.

Whew! I was pretty relieved when that turned out to be the alarm. Npw about that missing muse... I am pretty sure she will be out there wandering about looking for me. She will be showing up any day now.

Thank you for reading. I'm glad you enjoyed it. Thankfully, it was just an alarm.

Hello @mr-neil, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41