A Story About The Limelight: The Board Display Part 1

in #freewrite5 years ago (edited)

Three times in a row; the award for the best outside board display goes to Mrs P.

“A bit of limelight is nice, but the true reward is being acknowledged for my creative skills.”

It is a big primary school which teaches students from Kindergarten to Grade 4. A big school with lots of students. Every few weeks, the boards outside the classrooms have to be changed and a high standard is expected.

September is the start of the school year. Opposite the classroom of Mrs P, is a new teacher, Mrs Q

They become good friends. They spend nearly every break time in each others company. They laugh about the good things and vent about the annoying things.

The only day they don't spend talking to each other is deadline day of updated board displays. They are busy cutting, laminating, gluing and stapling, until at last, the displays are finished. They have even stayed later than normal.

The following week, the winners are announced.

“Thank you for all your displays,” said Mrs A, the head of the school. “This time, the award for the best display goes to…..”

Mrs P holds her breath.

“..........Mrs Q.”

This is met with rapturous applause. That is, except for one person. Mrs P, who was probably the runner up.

A fire is burning inside her soul.

“I lost,” thought Mrs P. “It shouldn't matter. It doesn't matter. I don't need the limelight. I don't want it. I never wanted it. Mrs Q is my friend. I am happy for her, very happy. I couldn't be happier. It doesn't matter.”

But deep inside she knows this is denial. Defeat hurts.

Mrs P spends the weekend trying to shake off the disappointment of defeat. It is like a bug inside her that won't go away. The only thing she can do is look ahead.

“I won three times. I can win again. I will win again. Whatever is necessary. Next time, I will win”

The story continues.

A Story About The Local Derby: The Board Display Part 2

image

Thank you for reading.

Link to task:

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-461-5-minute-freewrite-thursday-prompt-in-the-limelight

Sort:  

Defeat hurts but really hope Mrs. P will eventually accept the fact. I came to actually deliver the next prompt but I saw you had done it (prompt "local derby"). Have fun writing as always. :)

More likely, there will be war. :-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43