5 Minute Freewrite - Prompt: Red

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

Red:
The cherries were ripe again, the boughs heavy with the bright red globes. In the morning, early, we had clambered the wall of the manor house garden, where we sat, daring each other to run across the lawn and fetch the fruit from the tree. It was our rite of passage. Our own act of rebellion against those who had when we had not.

Now the manor is a museum. A cherry orchard stretches from the wall to the one old tree, the discarded stones of our youth taken root. We sit on blankets with our families, marvelling at the clouds of blossom, sharing light stories of darker days while our children huddle, heads together, plotting their own quiet revolutions.


cherries-839864_640.jpg


Time to get back to posting up some writing. I first saw the #freewrite tag on @improv's blog, way back, but it's never been something I can do. My thoughts form too slowly. I find myself looping back constantly to where I started. I read and reread, I stumble over tenses, I hunt for words. I'm always impressed with people for whom writing just flows. I see them in cafes occasionally, frantically scribbling or fingers-a-blur.

Now we're in NaNoWriMo (which I'm not doing - NoNaNoWriMo) I'm motivated to work on my pace. The #freewrite tag has grown into a daily event, taken on by @mariannewest, each day with its own prompt. This feels like a good process for me to follow. A morning work-out. Some training wheels while I learn to build up speed. So I wrote the above piece this morning. I'll happily admit it took ten minutes rather than five. I am, at least, now facing in the right direction.


footer1.jpg

Sort:  

So glad you joined us!! And everyone in this group is doing their own version of this freewriting exercise :) Some think about the prompt all day and then write. all is good.
However, this can also be an opportunity to let go of the need to correct and to just write on even if it is nonsense. I find that when I am using the app http://www.themostdangerouswritingapp.com/ I make a lot of spelling mistakes but it keeps me going and really be more free-flowing. I just fix the spelling before I publish :)
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-21-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-books

Thanks Marianne! I'm glad to hear there are different approaches and that I'm not out on a limb!

You! It's been a long time! Come around for some puns, too, K?

Hey! Yes, I shall do that.

I shall defer until next week - that word being impunissible!

I have every faith that you'd rise to the challenge, but no pressure.

There is, however pressure for you to read my webseries: https://steemit.com/webseries/@improv/gentle-werewolf-webseries-script-episode-6-1-in-which-tom-has-to-get-a-job-seriously

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63744.49
ETH 2639.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.77