Freewrite hosted by @mariannewest prompt: Drive

in #freewrite6 years ago

freewrite-church-metzli-4.jpg

The hard drive, the inner drive, the need to drive.

The ability to get in my car and go visit my parents.

I have become accustomed to this 8 hour drive. I have learned how to time it and curve it. I have learned where to stop for cheaper gas, and where the fast food is cheaper for my kids to enjoy. I have learned that my packed lunches are a bad idea. Snacks make a mess, and cheese crackers shaped like little fish smell even worse when they are a product of a car sick kid.

It doesn't happen often, but often enough to avoid it.

Timing LA is always nice. There really is a sweet spot that makes those three lanes not seem like a nightmare and regular morning commuters not seems like horrible people with angry driver syndrome. The best time is NOT at night, that is when construction time is. They will close even more of those lanes and you will go even more slow even though there are less cars.

5 am - 6:30 am that is when you want to conquer LA.

If you fail to cross the nightmare at those hours, then stay a while at your sister's house.

LA has different sweet spots, and traffic jams, jam up your drive less, when you've had a nice time hanging out with your sister.


This was my response to today's #freewrite prompt: drive.

Thank you for taking the time to read.

20180516_002249_0001.png

images and graphics used are mine and compiled together using Canva or simply uploaded from my phone. except the banners which are used with the permission of the community who they were created for

Sort:  

Interestingly written, a trip has many anecdotes, I have to travel 6 hours to see my relatives. regards

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by metzli from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

I find long drives are wonderful to spend time with people!

Also, I thought you may like to keep writing, so I'm dropping by the newest prompt:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-298-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-grief

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Now, all we need is either a sister in LA or your sister's address LOL

Wait, so you're a parent on steemit in Los Angeles!?! We need to meet up! @stinawog is my wife, and we have a nine month old!

Did you see this?
https://steemit.com/socalsteemit/@improv/brendan-s-birthday-beach-bash-invitation-also-why-i-keep-steeming

You and your little ones should come!

No :(

I am a parent in the Bay Area. My parents live in San Diego, so I have to drive through LA often. My sister lives there so we usually spend some time there. I would have loved to go to the party but, I won't by down there until just a few days after that. I am happy to find people fairly close by and will make sure to have our paths meet sometime!

Im going to visit your wife now, and invite her to join #steemitmamas.

Yes, we'll have to see you on a trip through!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 67232.91
ETH 3240.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64