Day 85, Prompt: Corn - 5 Minute Freewrite Challange

in #freewrite7 years ago (edited)

IMG_5496.PNG

I can hear my heart wanting to run away and escape my chest. It's never sounded so loud or so frightened before. I sit, hoping to not be heard, or to be seen.
All I can see is corn, I'm surrounded by it, consumed by it. I don't know these fields and I certainly don't know where I am, but he does.

These are his fields, I know they are. I haven't used my legs in so long, I'm surprised I was able to run as far and as fast as I did. Once I reached the corn fields the only was through. I kept running until my legs gave away and now I play a waiting game. I know he's close behind me and will be here soon. I can't go back to that place.

I use every inch of energy I have left to get myself up off the floor. I slowly start walking, hoping he's not close enough to hear me. A sense of hope starts filling my body, maybe I can make it home.

Then I hear the sound of a shotgun...

This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's prompt was 'Corn.' If you're wanting to participate in the #dailyfreewritechallenge, just follow the link:https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-85-5-minute-freewrite-friday-prompt-corn

Thanks for reading.

Until next time,

Meliss

Photo Cred: http://m.startribune.com/most-crops-on-minnesota-farms-ahead-of-the-game/384602591/

Sort:  

Good free write. Thanks for the read.

You wrote another freewrite with a suspence and thril atmosphere if I'm not mistaken..I see it's really your style, nice!

Yesterday a group of ancient bananafish appeared to me in a dream. They gave me a mission: to mariannewestize myself and bring the freewrites' gospel to the world!

Single prompt option

https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-01-13-2018-single-prompt-option

3 prompt option
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-jan-13-2018-part-1-the-first-sentence

The @OriginalWorks bot has determined this post by @mel1ss to be original material and upvoted it!

ezgif.com-resize.gif

To call @OriginalWorks, simply reply to any post with @originalworks or !originalworks in your message!

Please note that this is a BETA version. Feel free to leave a reply if you feel this is an error to help improve accuracy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64669.52
ETH 3430.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52