Day 113, Prompt: Rain - 5 Minute Freewrite Challenge

in #freewrite6 years ago

roof-repair-after-storm.jpg

I'd always loved the sound of the rain, it calmed me and made me feel safe. I would spend hours watching it, distracting myself from whatever nonsense was going on in the real world. The rain would take me places and allow my imagination to run free. I remember lying in bed at night, closing my eyes, and wishing I could be outside with it and feel its presence on my skin.

I'm never going to hear it again. I can't from where I am. My illness came as a shock and now it's taken over my whole body. I'm in the hospital, simply waiting to die. I requested to be as close to the roof as possible so I could hear the rain one last time. But they put me on the middle floor, away from everything.

I can feel myself getting weaker and I know it's almost time to let go. I close my eyes one last time and that's when I hear it. I don't know if it's real or just my imagination but I hear the ever so calming noise of the rain.

I can let go now.

This post is in response to the #dailyfreewritechallenge posted by @mariannewest & @improv. Today's prompt was 'Rain.' If you're wanting to participate in the #dailyfreewritechallenge, just follow the link: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/weekend-freewrite-02-10-2018-single-prompt-option

Thanks for reading.

Don't forget to check back in tomorrow for the next chapter of my short story series.

Until next time,

Meliss

Image Cred: http://jacktherooferaz.com/storm-damage/how-to-prevent-storm-damage-to-your-roof-and-fix-a-leak-in-the-rain/

Sort:  

Should this prompt hit your head I do apologize, it's difficult to aim while flying through the skies!

Freewrite Day 115 - Mason Jar

The sound of rain is absolutely magical in how it makes us feel. Love that sense of peace that you gave the ending!

As a follower of @followforupvotes this post has been randomly selected and upvoted! Enjoy your upvote and have a great day!

follow me plzz

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 64182.15
ETH 3505.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53