All in a night's work

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Ben left the car in the emergency lane and set out on foot. It was past midnight so he decided to cut through the forest to get home quicker. It was quite a pleasant night and he sure could use some exercise.
At first, he couldn't believe his eyes. It can't be! But, sure enough, there was a woman sitting under a tree. She seemed middle-aged, at least judging by the dark long dress.
'What are you doing here at this hour? Are you lost Ma'am?'
'Filling in for Grimelda', came the answer, a bit slurred by the fact she was chewing on an apple.
'You're the new HR guy?
'What? No, what are you talking about? My car broke down and I need to get home.'
The woman checked him out head to toe.
'You live in that house by the lake, with that yappy black dog? Poor Miffy, almost fell off the broom last week'.

halloween-2899489_960_720.jpg

'I'm sorry', he said, than realized he still didn't have a clue what the hell she was talking about.
'I'm not crazy, if that's what you're wondering. Just doing my job. It's the witches' hour and I have to circle the forest three times. Says in the contract'.
'You're a witch. Huh?'
'That wasn't so hard, see? Just going about my business. Do you think I enjoy myself sitting in forest at this hour? No, sir. But a job's a job and I need to eat, too. Three raids a night, to keep the goblins away.'
'Goblins?'
'That's right, Otherwise they'd rob you blind, give us all magical folks a bad name. You're sure you're not with the Ministry?'
'What ministry?'
'Ministry of the Occult, what else? These are pretty bad times for us, how's witch supposed to make a living these days? Got any cigarettes, by any chance?'
As they sat down smoking, the witch told him all about her problems, the bad back, the broom needing some mending, the other bitches who didn't bother to show up for the Sabbath.

'Let's get going. Still need to do one more round. Say, can I give you a lift?'
As she dropped him off in the drive-away, Ben insisted she took the rest of his cigarettes.
'Nice meeting you, neighbor. And please, keep that dog inside. I cannot afford a new cat.'
Miffy meowed and gave him the evil eye.
cat-2540940_960_720.jpg
Images: Pixabay

Sort:  

I really like this! The story is easy to read and the characters are totally cool. Good Work!!

One if the best #freewrite bits I've read: 'Filling in for Grimelda', came the answer, a bit slurred by the fact she was chewing on an apple.
Love it!

HaHa! "Witches hour" You just never know when and where you might meet a witch; let alone having one for a neighbor. Poor Miffy is right; almost falling off of the broom. Loved this! Tip!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.23
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 66161.45
ETH 3566.85
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.11