Think (Slightly-Over-5 Minute Freewrite)

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Vivian sat in the chair staring blankly at the crowd of judgmental strangers. Think, she told herself. Think harder. Nothing came to mind. She had two minutes left to come up with an answer before she’d be kicked out of the game. Jonathan would know the answer, or at least an answer. She wished at that moment that she had taken him up on those free improv classes at the local theater. It was only two blocks from her front door, and she had always felt too intimidated to join, lest she succumb to stage fright. And yet, somehow she had thought that going on a live game show on national television would be a great idea. When they selected her as a contestant, she instantly regretted that decision. On the other hand, Jonathan always knew the right thing to say in a pinch. One time, they snuck into a building in the middle of the night to gaze at the city lights from its rooftop because he managed to convince the security guard of some sort of nonsense that seemed totally implausible to her, but he had said it in such an assertive way. Even nonsense makes sense when you're confident enough. Improv skills. What was it he said again? She thought about it, combing her memories.

WAIT. Why was she wandering through years' old memories? She needed to keep thinking about the matter at hand. She knew this. Didn’t she see a documentary about Mogadishu on Netflix that one time? Or was that Nairobi? She had always thought she was so good at geography, but stage fright was taking over and her mind had nothing to say. One minute left. Come on, Vivian, you know this one. Think. The ensuing minute seemed like a split second and an eternity all at once. The timer buzzed. Dead silence. The crowd held its breath. “What’s your answer, Vivian? What country's capital is Mogadishu?” She responded with the first country that came to mind: “Somalia…?” The host paused for an uncomfortable few seconds. "That's... CORRECT!" Confetti floated down from the ceiling in slow motion. The crowd cheered in a deafening roar.

“Congratulations, Vivian! Where are you going to go with your $500,000?” She stared at the host. It hadn’t occurred to her that she might actually win this thing. What was she supposed to say? Somehow, she couldn’t even come up with a response to a question with infinite answers. What does one do with $500,000? She felt like vomiting as the crowd's cheering subsided into an awkward and confused silence. Tears welled up in her eyes. “Um... I have to go... now.” She bolted offstage.


The View from the Roof, 2014

This was a 5 minute freewrite, as prompted by @mariannewest and @freewritehouse. Okay, I admit it, it was closer to 8, and I definitely took at least 5 minutes to find the perfect photo in my phone, and I may have done some heavy editing... but, I pinky swear, I'll play by the rules next time.

Sort:  

Great stuff! I love the part about going through random old memories when you're supposed to be concentrating on the matter at hand. That always happens to me when I'm sitting exams :D

Thanks! I also have that problem when I’m under pressure. It was very meta actually because I was trying to write this quickly and my brain jumped to a similar random memory and then I realized I was off topic!

Well if you told yourself to "think harder", it worked ;)

Wow! I love the game show theme and I felt the pressure right along with her. Fabulous job! I'm following you and can't wait to see more of your Freewrites!

Thank you! Following you back. 🙂

You took us right along into the contestant's mind! Love it. And the picture!! don't worry about the rules - everyone else does what they feel like 😉 We encourage freedom in all ways. Take the 5 minutes as your start - and some days, it ends at the ding - and other days, it doesn't...

Thank you for doing these! I’m going to try to do them somewhat regularly. I’ll give the rules a shot but I have a feeling I’m going to end up breaking them more often than not. 😜

Nice! I love this part: "The ensuing minute seemed like a split second and an eternity all at once." I have felt that way many times. And a game show contestant was awesome. I really enjoyed this! : )
Resident cat here, just a small tiger, thinking about so many things while delivering today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-160-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-tiger

Thank you! I was going to say I have no idea what to do with that prompt but I might have one...

YAY! I will read it later tonight. Looking forward to it! : )

World of Photography Beta V1.0
>Learn more here<

Thank you for participating in #architecturalphotography

You have earned 5.05 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.01
Server time: 00:04:57
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 30.20/100.00
Total Photos: 4
Total comments: 10
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

Great picture! I like it 👍
upvote-bild-fertig.gif
You got an upvote, so it would be a nice gesture to follow this account for more upvotes in the future 👊🏼

I love that freewriting!! Great job sweetheart!!;)

With $500.000 - I could buy a lot of nard - but I'm going to put it towards buying a small island and building and naming a capital with a name I can remember. I don't know how many times I've pulled out a map of Africa and given it my best shot (same for flags) but I think past 40 there is no point even trying to remember much of anything...

Ahaha, I would totally freak out like this on a game show!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59880.83
ETH 2301.55
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.50