Freewrite #113 with @mariannewest: Ski

in #freewrite7 years ago

Ski. Skeeter. Water skeeters in the creek out behind our back yard when I was growing up. We had a fence running along the back of our property, which was not small, but not large either. I remember a pond somewhere over there too, and the skeeters loved it there. The thing I remember most, being 6 at the time, was how fascinating it was that they could just ski across the water on their own feet. Their leg span was so wide, and feet so tiny, and body so light, the surface tension from their little feet made small indents on the water as though it was not actually liquid at all, but some kind of thick material--not completely solid, but certainly not water. As though they must have been running across a large silk sheet, and they could slide right over the top of it making tiny ripples, but not actually tearing through it.

This is what I remember thinking when I was a kid. And the thought has never left.

I had another thought at that time as well. I wondered why Groundhog’s Day was the way it was. If he saw his shadow, then that meant 6 more weeks of winter. What did seeing a shadow have anything to do with whether or not winter would be longer or shorter? This did not make sense to me. In my little mind, if a groundhog came out of his hole and saw his shadow, then that meant there must be a sun shining up above. And sun brought warmth and Spring. The teacher sat down with me and tried to explain it, but I simply could not wrap my head around the fact that a shadow brought with it more winter, as opposed to spring.

I was reduced to tears. And the teacher gave up. We agreed to disagree. To this day, it’s a bit of a hiccup still when groundhog’s day comes along. Wait, he saw his shadow….so that means…..right. More Winter. Because it scared him back in his hole. Got it.

Sort:  

I loved watching those skeeters. They were too fast to catch sometimes too. When I first saw them, I thought they were spiders. When I was told what they were, my bright little eyes grew very curious. To this day I still look for them in water (rivers and lakes.) As for the groundhog thing, I totally get what you mean. I still wonder about that too and agree. It seems every year we have (6 more weeks till spring.) Maybe that chunky thing should come out when the sun is out, lol.

Oh and I can't stand the movie.

I do actually kind of like the movie. It makes me wonder what I would do.....but I can see how it would be grating to watch. Glad Im not the only one who never got the groundhog thing!

The first time I watched it, I liked it. But people I hung around with would always watch it each year. The repeat scene is what gets me, lol. If it were not for that part, I'd maybe love the movie.

I was the other way around. It kind of grew on me after awhile. Kind of like Napoloen Dynamite. Remember that show! I remember watching that for the first time and being like, "wha?" and then I watched it with my sister and we were rolling. It's such a classic. IMHO. A little overdone in style, now, but still. Classic beginning of a genre.

Lol, yeah and I think kids now think our shows we grew up with were weird. Can't wait till they hear that as they have kids. :-)

I love your memories @littlescribe and the large silk sheet metaphor (although I was sorry for you been reduced to tears for such a thing!).

Welcome to the weekend freewrite banquet! Another seven days have passed in a blink and every day we grow stronger thanks to the energy of our limitless creativity! But let’s just cut to the chase, here is the menu that our master chef @mariannewest has expertly prepared for us:
Delicatessen #1 – Single prompt option
Delicatessen #2 – Weekend freewrite in three parts: 1- 2 - 3

Thanks for the prompt! I think I may incorporate it into my running "freewrite" of sorts, chapter story in the art of Stephen King. Feel free to check it out and leave me critiques or requests for how you'd like the story to go! Chapter 1

Nice freewrite! Are you from the South? I'm reading your writing as if I'm talking to one of my neighbors lol.

I liked Groundhogs day too lol, and it did seem to start a new genre because I've seen half a dozen similar movies since.

I know. I just saw one the other day on Netflix. Can't remember what it was called....something or other. But it was actually pretty good! He kept waking up in the same time same place, reliving the same event. And then he solved it in the end, and lived happily ever after. Yay.

I really liked how you described the movement of the water skeeters. I have never seen them before. And Groundhog Day annoys me because it is just a myth that I never understood either. And so many people believe that Phil can actually predict the weather...crazy! : )

I know. I have a friend who is nuts about Phil. Like he's a demi-god or something (or should I say demi-hog). I just don't get the hype. But it makes for a cute festival, and really great funnel cakes.

I would love to see that!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59214.59
ETH 2524.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.48