You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Five minute free write - Fart

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Very imaginative use of the prompt - it's been tricky today. This was a great way to turn the obvious fart joke write on its head.

I actually tend to prefer writing dialogue rather than descriptions, or I find it easier. There's only so many things a person can say in a given situation, but practically an infinite number of things that could be going on around them...

Maybe set yourself some writing exercises where you just write 1-page micro plays? I used to do that when I was struggling with it. It forces you to tell the story through dialogue alone, and I think telling the story is at its core what the best dialogue does.

I'd be eager to read them if you posted them to steemit! Either way, looking forward to your next write :)

Sort:  

Interesting idea...1 page micro plays. I just kind of did something like that with @stach's 199 constrained story challenge. Tough, but fun. For me it's finding the idea to drape over the framework that's the hardest. Guess I should do some studying about the common stories that just have their serial numbers filed off and new ideas inserted, hehe.

Thanks for dropping by! :)

serial numbers filed off and new ideas inserted

Haha, that's a one way ticket to Hollywood my friend. There's definitely a lot to be said for following the tried and tested story formats. Many of them go back millennia - it's hard to compete with something like that, practically baked into our genetic code.

Heheh, baked. I agree :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 58644.49
ETH 2625.45
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38