The approval: 5 minute freewrite, prompt: If you have any thoughts, let me know

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

conference-room-338563_960_720.jpg
"...If you have any thoughts, let me know." Jean concluded. The entire conference room was silent. As she concluded her presentation, 12 pairs of eyes turned to face the end of the table, whether or not they had liked the presentation wasn't what was important, all that mattered was that the CEO was willing to back her. If she could gain his approval, she was through.

George Milson, CEO of Good Fortune Funding frowned. "We get A lot of people through that door every month, each and every one of them thinks they have something worth funding. Almost without fail they promise to make us exuberant amounts of money, yet here you are telling us that we should give you money, just so you can make something to give away, why?"

"Sales on my solar panels will more than make up for the profit lost in the initial giveaway. Plus are only asking that you give the first million panels to people who would otherwise be unable to afford them." She knew that proposing this was risky, but she'd be damned if another one of her inventions was going to be used to solely funnel more money to those that didn't need it from people that did. Not when it had so much potential to do good.

"I've watched hundreds of people come in here and make presentations on how good their project will be at helping us be selfish. Did you know I've never actually funded any of them? Everyone thinks I started this company to make money. In fact, I started this company to help people, to be selfless. Everyone just assumed I had the motive of profit. I realized after the first presentation that the company's mission statement was being misunderstood, but I let it stick, because the only people I trust with my charity funding are those who I know actually want to use it for good and not for themselves. I accept your proposal."

Sort:  

Ahhh... if only more businesses would act like this. It sounds like a fabulous presentation, too! Great post!

Here is today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-78-5-minute-freewrite-prompt-pen

Also, don't forget to link to the original prompt post AND post your link in the comments so that more people will see it :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63750.99
ETH 3130.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95