FreeWriteHouse Party Day 9: Lights, Camera, Action!! It's The MONKEY's WEDDING!

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

6624E5BF-6716-42F0-9335-84DB95069384.GIF

Monkey's Wedding

They called her Apelicious, Banana Eater, Hairy Scary... Not just behind her back but to her face. When she got her first gig on TV, the producers were so excited with the stage name they had come up with, Funky Monkey. She went with it because she had to prove a point that she too could be wanted. Who's having the last laugh now she thought.

But she also thought how lonely she was. People just generally avoided her. She had one friend but he wasn't here with her. He had got himself a job in another country, and totally denied it was because he didn't know how to tell her he didn't want to be seen together. Well, she will take the messaging for now. That's all she's got.

Sometimes she'd be invited to parties but she knew they were laughing at her and not with her. They would take wefies and share it on social media so they could get more likes. Of course, with those came comments that she'd rather not regurgitate for our pleasure. These days she brushed off the invitations with "I have to catch up on my Trash TV".

It took all her growing up years to come to terms with her condition. She looked like a monkey with a Venetian mask on. The Universe might have taken this prank a bit too far. She couldn't do anything about her face, but she did try and shave off all that hair. But it cost too much and her skin looked weird. It defeated the purpose.

Mum for years would tell her she needed to be comfortable in her own skin... though she wished she would say it like it is - "Hair". Dad always walked tall and proud when they were out in public. He loved her to bits. But time eventually caught up with both of them, and now it was just her... and her fans.

As she got ready for showtime, she thought of all her followers.. Those who were born with their own oddities, connecting over the injustices and unfairness of life. She'd advise them to be comfortable in their own skin, odd was the new in, blah blah blah. But what she really wanted to tell them was "get over yourself. Nobody cares."

As she sat in her chair in her little studio, lights shinning, she could feel the sweat beads. She wasn't nervous but it wasn't the perfect setting for all that hair. The floor manager counted her in.

"Quiet on set!! Camera rolling! In 5 - 4 - " and the rest of the countdown was just his fingers on cue and they were live. The credits rolled welcoming everyone To The Funky Monkey Show, Where being Unlucky Doesn't Need To Be Sucky!!"

"Uuh, Uuh, Uuh, people!!" her familiar greeting started the show. "How's everyone feeling today?"
The crew responded "Uuh, Uuh, Uuh!!"

"Today you will witness the Funky Monkey's Wedding!!!!" and as she continued on about why she's marrying herself, she watched in amusement what the viewers couldn't see, the chaos behind the camera asking her to "Cut!".

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Another day another prompt, another Free Write! This is where you are allowed to frolic in the happiest place or traverse into the darkest corners of your mind and then share it. It can be fact, it can be fiction, as long as they are your words!!
Check out @mariannewest to find out more.
This is my submission for the 200 Day Party Challenge. Check out other stories centred around Monkey's Wedding here!!

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif


@steemitbloggers

The STEEM Engine

20180516_002249_0001.png

Sort:  

That was so interesting! I was engaged through the whole thing! Great freewrite.

Glad you liked it ...
First I was a little concerned it was going to be gobbledygook
Thank you for reading @freedomtowrite

Haha I love it...and I understand. I think one of my favorite feelings, and it started after doing freewrites, is when the writing begins, just like yours, and all I see is gobbledygook, and then it actually turns into a story like it was planned from the beginning! It's magic haha

This is freewrite? As in 5 minutes? Oh my goodness, that many words and a great story.

Uhmm I'm scared to try freewrite...

Don't be scared. @kaerpediem types really fast. Not everyone does. And not everyone stops after 5 min either LOL

No no no don’t be scared
When I type I don’t worry about spelling mistakes, I fix them later. My left hand and right hand get confused a lot haha
And I will fix bits that don’t make sense either and then you get this
You have to check out the other free writers at @freewritehouse
😊

Please come check us out at the @freewritehouse! It's a supportive place to write. And...I may or may not be one of the people that goes past five minutes. Not everytime....but when a story just needs to be told, no timer can hold it down! Haha

That turned out really interesting and deep. there are so many Funky Monkeys out there...

Ooooh I gotta go check it out 😊

wow you're such an amazing writer! You really set a very high benchmark for freewrite lol..All I can do is keep reading your posts and hope that one day I can write as well as you do.. btw do you give lessons? lol..keep it up and looking forward for your next one! 😊😊👍👍✌️✌️

❤️ Thank you for your kind words @grayarty
I am going to let you in on a secret
I always wanted to be an author but that’s just about every girl who grew up reading Enid Blyton
When I became an adult I wrote scripts for clients but there’s only so much you can do with that

Then by accident here on steemit I discovered Freewrite and out of curiosity tried one and then another and then now I am doing a 50 day challenge

You see how long winded I can get
What I am really trying to say is Come join us... you will be surprised at what you have within 😊

Actually I've done a few freewrite posts, but so lame compared to yours lol..u can check them out at my blog...I don't mind some advice on how to improve too lol..thanks for sharing your "secret" with me and for your encouragement! 😀😀✌️✌️

We are out worst critic 😊

I love your imagination with this prompt. I had to laugh imagining all of the chaos when she announced on TV that she was marrying herself. Loved that! : )

Resident cat here, steadily walking on a wire while delivering today's prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-216-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wire

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!
Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

Thank you for reading @whatisnew 😊

Wow @kaerpediem you always write a great story! Entertaining as ever! I am starting to really enjoy this. Glad I decided to join the party! Thanks to you and a bunch of others. I am also glad that I didn't get eliminated today! Phew, silly uploading mistake which I didn't check!

Yes it really grows on you and it’s a great way to make it a habit
Phew! Lucky you made it
To 50 days and beyond 😊

Hah, this is a good one! As always, love your freewrites! 😃 xx

Very cool freewrite! Love your take on the 'monkey's wedding' prompt! I would never have thought of doing something like this.

Hey @squishysquid, thank you. Happy you like the story 😊

You've been upvoted by TeamMalaysia community. Here are trending posts by other TeamMalaysia authors at http://steemit.com/trending/teammalaysia

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

Once again, the ending caught me by surprise! What a hoot!

When I first saw this prompt, I was so sure I wasn't going to have anything interesting... and then it turned out to be something I really liked..
Happy you enjoyed it 😊❤️

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63036.79
ETH 3067.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82