FreeWriteHouse Party Day 37: Look Ma, No Phone!!

in #freewrite6 years ago

26DB6566-C186-462C-93F9-1AC01876A520.jpeg

Phone

I wake up in the morning and the first thing I do is reach out for my phone. First to turn off the alarm and then to quickly check if any important messages came through while I was asleep.

It’s crazy how dependent I’ve become on my phone. It wakes me up in the morning. It reminds me of my assignments and appointments for the day. It reminds me of birthdays and anniversaries.

I am going to a new place I Waze there. I make sure I have my power bank just in case I run out of battery. Even when I am going to a familiar place and I know the way well, I rely on the phone to alert me if there’s traffic, the fastest route and my time of arrival. I can even send my journey to the friend I am meeting so they can keep track of my arrival.

When I park in a huge car park, I snap a picture of my lot, just in case I forget. I snap pictures of slides and notes at a presentation. I snap pictures of prices to compare.

I bought the iPhone to record videos which you will see more of when I get home. I video call the family if I see something I think they might like so they can decide if I should get it. I screen cap parts of messages or videos that I will use later.

When I don’t have my laptop, the phone steps in to sort the necessary. The only way I managed to keep in this Free Write challenge even though I have traveled to Dubai, Perth and now in Singapore in the span of a month. My laptop is heavy and I rather not lug it around.

And of course, lastly for how it all began, to communicate. I do love my phone. But it won’t kill me if I forgot it and left it at home without it. And I do try to be present for most things even if it is a little tricky especially when you want to get pictures and videos for your blogs and vlogs 😉.

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Another day another prompt, another Free Write! This is where you are allowed to frolic in the happiest place or traverse into the darkest corners of your mind and then share it. It can be fact, it can be fiction, as long as they are your words!!

Check out @mariannewest and @freewritehouse to find out more.
This is my submission for the 200 Day Party Challenge where we need to write one freewrite every single day for 50 days. Read other stories inspired by the prompt phone here!!

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif


@steemitbloggers

20180516_002249_0001.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

200-day freewrite? :D Way to go!

I refuse to make my phone that "handy" lol. I'm a desktop person so it's frustrating for me to be online on the phone. It is very handy though for snapping pictures and videos.

But it won’t kill me if I forgot it and left it at home without it.

I'm glad you're not hooked to it that you feel naked without the phone hahaha. I know some of my officemates are that way - can't live without their phones.

I was good for the longest time, then I got promoted to manager and had to be prepared 24/7 because of the nature of the business (radio) especially when the plane disappeared... I had to be contactable at all times to disseminate information to my team and then there was no turning back...tsk tsk tsk

Don't give in to the dark side @lovenfreedom... haha
Thank you for dropping in and reading 😊

I experienced that 24/7 on call back when I was working for the IT department. It was tough. They gave me a company iPhone to be connected all the time ugh. And lugging the company laptop all the time.

I moved to another department, it's a lot better lol.

You're welcome mama. I have been behind in reading other mama posts. So I'll just get to them when I get to. Glad to see this before it paid out :D

I know so many people who depend on their phones just like you. They sure do sound handy but I am old school, using my flip phone. LOL! I love your photo. : )

Resident cat here, delivering today's woody prompt: https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-244-5-minute-freewrite-wednesday-prompt-wood

That’s cool.. you are not like most who have to get the latest smart phone available

Thank you for the prompt 😊

Thank you for sharing your posts with us. This post was curated by TeamMalaysia as part of our community support. Looking forward for more posts from you.

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote bitrocker2020 witness

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 62915.59
ETH 2542.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63