FreeWriteHouse Party Day 34: Don't Go In The Attic!!

in #freewrite6 years ago

Image-1.jpg

The Attic

Yesterday we were watching The Conjuring while waiting for everyone to get ready to go visit family. Some had pillows strategically placed so they could cover their face at the scary parts. Of course, we had many comments, talking to the characters through the movie. "No, don't go there!", "Wake your sister!", "Don't look under the bed!"

The movie itself is based on a true story. The house that was haunted with a history of children with horrible deaths. One was murdered, some who had drowned in a nearby creek and a few hanged themselves in the attic. The Conjuring followed The Perron's family experience in the house.

As we were discussing the movie, there were many comments on why they didn't just leave. Of course, it is not as easy as just saying, yes we went through the whole rigmarole of moving into a new place, now let's move out because there are some strange things happening which probably has a very logical explanation. A decision as big as that needs conviction without a doubt.

This brings me to a story of when we had just finished having dinner. We eat in the kitchen which is kind of al fresco. It has a shade that opens out to open air. We live on the second floor and there's 15 floors above us but we really cannot see them unless we stand at the very end of the back yard and look up as the shade covers most part of the kitchen. So after having dinner, we cleaned up and adjourned to the living area.

It was just the kids and I. We suddenly heard a thud and I walked into the kitchen to see what the sound was, with the kids trailing behind me. I spotted a 50 cent coin in the middle of our dinner table which is well under the shade with no chance of someone throwing it from the appartments above. And even then, it would have rolled or if it had ricocheted, we'd have heard more than one thud and it would have rolled somewhat before landing.

But there sat the coin, on a table that I had just wiped down. I immedietly grabbed a knife incase there was an intruder. In my head I was thinking, this is the part we'd be shouting get out! Get out now!! I was also thinking of the custom of placing coins on a dead person's eyes to keep it closed. My mind was racing, my heart was beating, and I told the kids to get in the house and if anything strange happened to run as fast as they could to my parents' (they lived a few houses down).

I looked around, there was nothing. I called my husband to tell him what happened. He calmed me down a little and then life went back to routine. But of course, I didn't Get Out Now!!!

DQmdq4Y29JQ5TywGZ1qwnY72wArY8xS5HZFraHoJv9aE75H.png

Another day another prompt, another Free Write! This is where you are allowed to frolic in the happiest place or traverse into the darkest corners of your mind and then share it. It can be fact, it can be fiction, as long as they are your words!!

Check out @mariannewest and @freewritehouse to find out more.

This is my submission for the 200 Day Party Challenge where we need to write one freewrite every single day for 50 days. Read other stories inspired by the weekend here!!

’Til we meet again over text, pics, videos, maybe even coffee - Steem On!!

KAERPEDIEM.gif


@steemitbloggers

20180516_002249_0001.png

The STEEM Engine

Sort:  

Run!!!! use that knife!!!
😂

very good advice 😂

This post has been curated by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

wow horror!! my kinda story lol!

hahaha... glad you enjoyed it 😊

Oh, how freaky! What an interesting thing to have happen! But, you're 50-cents richer! LOL! Thanks for sharing this cool story with #steemitbloggers 😊

You are right... I was 50 cents richer... 😊

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65733.39
ETH 3506.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51