FreeWrite || DisorientedsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #freewrite5 years ago

It has been so long since I did a Free Write. When I first started, I would do it on a daily because it helped me fire up a post.

c2p74i.png

The prompts triggered all sorts for me. Mostly fiction, stories I read today, a year later and am surprised at what came out whacking at the qwerty keys, racing against the timer.

It wasn't always fiction though. Every now and then, a memory gets resurrected. Occasionally a thought or an idea would sneak in.

That's the thing I loved about @mariannewest and the Free Writes. There was no rule. Even the whole idea of writing for 5 minutes using the prompt was just a guideline.

You are free to express yourself. Write longer than 5 minutes if you were compelled to finish your story. Fix your spelling mistakes, the grammar slip ups... or don't... it didn't matter. But I can safely say most of us made it a point...to post something that was readable, that the reader would enjoy.

The idea was not to second guess yourself. Marianne even gathered some volunteers to swing around the Free Writes to read them. If someone took the time to write and share, at least one person should read it.

There was only one rule - No Plagirsm. As long as the work was yours, you were good to post it.... or not post it. And this really got me into the habit of writing every single day.

d1zk6y.png

Hmmmmmmm

For over a week now, I have been feeling a bit disorientated. I told myself that today I will get back to one video a day. I had slacked some since having too good a time at Steemfest.

After the first couple of days in Bangkok, I decided I didn't need to share every single thing as it took me away from actually being really present. And since then, it has became easier to let some days go without a post.

I spent today with many starts and stops and finally got something together. Then I looked at the finished video and I just couldn't bring myself to upload it. Not that it was bad. It was pretty good but I just wasn't feeling it. So I guess, I will get back to it tomorrow.

So I did the next best thing - I stared through my feed, I came across the prompt for the day....Yes!!! This is what I need. To get me out of this meh feeling. And so here I am!!

Now I am thinking, is it the price of Steem that was giving me the blues? I don't think so as it has never been my priority. If fact, I am hoping some Fiat will fall into my hands so I could get me some Steem.

Could it be the lull setting over SteemVerse? My feed does seem quieter than usual. Perhaps there is a little bit of that. Have seen a couple of goodbye posts and that does bring about a mood.

Perhaps it is the aftermath of SteemFest. The build up to go, and then being there and experiencing the vibes, and now back to routine. That could be it. For months there was something to look forward to and work towards. Culminating into an experience that did not disappoint.

So now what? Don't get me wrong. I missed my family and home. But I guess, it's time to set the next goal. To get the adrenaline pumping again.

5a41kc.png

OMG!! I think that's what it is! hahaha!! You see... this is why I love the Free Writes. I always come out at the end pleased.

Yes, I do have a tendency to get a little bored of doing the same thing over and over again. One of the very many reasons, I never quite got into a 9 to 5 job, well not until the kids came. And that too because someone planted that idea in my head and convinced me... like my then boss.

But I did embrace it and ran with it. It came with its learning curves, some very steep but it's what kept my adrenaline pumping. Besides, I loved what I did, and to learn the different aspects of running the show was exciting.

That reminds me, today as I was surfing the net, I came across a great quote/excerpt from a book by Brian Krans, The Continuous Suicide. Have you read it? I am definitely going to go look for it. This bit really really resonated with me👇

"“Don't exist.
Live.
Get out, explore.
Thrive.
Challenge authority. Challenge yourself.
Evolve.
Change forever...."

Go have a read and let me know what you think.

5kq09s.png

Oh, how I have missed these Free Writes. I would recommend it to anyone who is stuck and can't seem to think of what to write. Something about not thinking and just going for it. It's like unclogging your stuck thoughts and words.

Well, I have definitely gone over 5 minutes. Thank you for reading my gibberish. I truly hope you got something out of it. If you would like to give your head a bit of a rattle, swing on over to today's prompt.

Cheers,
Sh33la
25Nov19

All images sourced from and edited on Canva
Sort:  

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Love how you used the prompt to "prompt" yourself!!! But having said that, everything in its own time... sometimes it is good to just do things at your own will and pace - it can render far better productivity and creativity long term! :) Wonderfully open carded piece hon!

Thank you so much for your words of encouragement @jaynie
I truly appreciate it <33

Pleasure hon. You are such a "real" individual - a rare commodity in this world... don't change!

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE
FOLLOW US ON TWITTER

Thank you @theluvbug
Your visit is always a pleasure :D

Little over five minutes, ya LOL! But glad it got your juices flowing!

Ever so ;p
Yes, I think I am out of my funk
Just keep swimming :D

!giphy just+keep+swimming




giphy is supported by witness untersatz!

This was really great @kaerpediem, you sorted out your own disorientation while writing the post, and the quote you got from the book at the end was just so very motivating, we need to live not just exist, it's awesome.


This post is AWESOME!

It has therefore got a manual 100% upvote from @thisisawesome, for the Awesome Daily Upvotes in category Freewrite, I give out 1 such vote in that category per day, plus 3 more in other categories, and your post will also be featured in todays Awesome Daily report for more visibility.

The goal of this project is to "highlight Awesome Content, and growing the Steem ecosystem by rewarding it".

Yes, the FreeWrites do really help with getting out of your head :)

Yes that quote.. the whole thing was really something
I read it so many times... I think I am going print it out and stick it up somewhere I can see as a reminder to tackle the blues :)

Thank you so much for dropping in @thisisawesome <33

Thanks @kaerpediem, do print it out and laminate it and put it everywhere you want to see it, and keep creating awesome content.

You still got it, no worries. =) we still have real life, but yes, you setting goal here is awesome. Sending my regards to you.

Oh Mama
You are just a breeze of positivity
Heart you so <33

It's amazing what a five minute prompt will squirrel from our brains! You are right. Keep the momentum and you will do what no one else can. Hugs!

Posted using Partiko Android

Just keep swimming :D
Thank you @wandrnrose7 <33

So happy to see you at the Freewrite :) And I love the quote - and all the points you made are so relatable. The low after a wonderful event, needing new goals, but keeping them doable...
So get that.

The FreeWriteHouse is home
Need to visit more often <33

New goals already set
I am all pumped up again :D

Thank you Marianne <33

Always love to see you!!

Congratulations @kaerpediem! You received a personal award!

SteemFest 4 Attendee

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

You can upvote this notification to help all Steem users. Learn how here!

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61263.81
ETH 2676.81
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.59