Don't Trust the Deceitful Detective.

in #freewrite6 years ago

Everyone had that one friend in high school that had unrealistic dreams and aspirations.

I'm not saying you shouldn't have big dreams, but if you do have big dreams you should also put some serious effort into realizing them.

Otherwise you're just talking a bunch of nonsense.

Johnny was the acquaintance I had that suffered from this affliction.

Talking out of his ass.


Source: Pixabay.com

When I first met Johnny he mentioned that he would like to work for NASA. As we smoked cigarettes behind the school building with the other truant kids, he would go on and on about how important the space program was.

He never went to class though.

This went on for about a year before he finally dropped out of school. I find people that drop out of school and just continue to live in their mother's basement tend to have lots of luck with women for some reason that I don't understand.

I think it must be because they are so good at bullshit that they can convince almost anyone of almost anything.

While he sat at his little computer desk as his mother brought him Coca Colas and corn dogs everyday, Johnny imagined that he was working on becoming a software developer.

Sometimes I'd stop by his house to hang out for a while. He would show me all these different applications that he had supposedly made. They were nothing more than tiny text files. Nothing he had produced gave me any indication that he had any knowledge whatsoever in the field of software development.

All he had was a fancy title for the software development company that he intended to start.


Source: Pixabay.com

Of course, the software development thing didn't last for very long. After a while he started talking about becoming a detective.

I think being a detective would actually be really cool. I don't mean a detective for the FBI or anything like that. I'm talking about a real private dick. You know, somebody like Dick Tracy. A person that follows suspects and takes pictures. That would be awesome although it would also be dangerous.

Still, it was perfect for my friend because he was quite large and could really take care of himself.

Johnny read all kinds of detective books and even got involved with some people online that were interested in the same thing that he was.

I thought maybe this time he would actually make it work.

I truly wanted Johnny to become a private detective, but of course just like everything else it became an idea that went into the garbage can.

I haven't spoke to Johnny in many years. The last time I checked he was trying to become a treasure hunter.

He had married a beautiful girl that had a nice job and made lots of money. There is no doubt in my mind that he bamboozled her into thinking that he actually had the credentials and ability to become a real treasure hunter.

I think what he really wanted to do was just take advantage of people and be able to get away with it.

it doesn't take a detective to realize that Johnny is mostly full of empty promises.

I'll tell you this much though....... people like that can fool you for a really long time.

Sort:  

You’ve been featured in our weekly curation post Freewrite Favorites at @freewritehouse. Thank you for participating and raising the bar with awesome, creative freewrites! Freewrite On!

Nice. Thank you.

Well johny is doing great listening to his heart and believing in his own skills.

I guess that depends on how you look at it.

nice and inspired pieces, we Do not easily Believe with Detective, because they can be Fraudsters.shanks for sharing @jeezzle

True.

Your friend Johnny will be very good in sales business. Since he's very good at convincing people. Lol.... Why does it seem most times that pretty ladies often fall for guys with sweet mouth? It's something I find difficult to understand. Don't the ladies have eyes to observe the guy's life? I love your narration it's interesting.

It's the curse of the silver tongue.

Over my years I have et people like that can really talk the talk but cant walk the walk

We live in a world of Pretenders.

Sadly thT is so true

To listen to the audio version of this article click on the play image.

Brought to you by @tts. If you find it useful please consider upvoting this reply.

Captivating.

Great read @jeezzle, I know a few of these Johnny's myself. 😂

I think that I'm a little bit like Johnny sometimes. Johnny is a dreamer, after all ;)

Here’s the most recent freewrite prompt, so you can keep on writing in this amazing community:
https://steemit.com/freewrite/@mariannewest/day-222-5-minute-freewrite-tuesday-prompt-homeless
Enjoy, and have a good day!


Visit this blog for amazing insights, contests, and initiatives about #freewrite community!

I have known people like him - full of empty promises...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.11
JST 0.027
BTC 65422.12
ETH 3433.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31