Overdrive: a short fiction story [Part I]

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

overdrive.jpg

I never learned how to drive.

Or perhaps, it's more accurate to say that I didn't really try learning. I realized early on that I had a very poor depth perception and sometimes, I even get nauseated from focusing on moving objects. Driving plus all that is a recipe for disaster.

So driving is out. Also true for most sports since I fail at tracking and catching thrown objects 90% of the time. As a kid and teen, it does sound bad but I've come to accept my eyesight issue as a quirk rather than a weakness. It unwittingly became part of my daily life, making adjustments and giving caution whenever required.

So this story messed up that norm a bit. Life's often crazy - flipping established parameters and giving you moments that'll leave you absolutely perplexed. "... Huh?" Kinda like that.

Daming charot. Lol. Sana maitawid yun punto. Pero gusto ko lang bigyan ng kakaibang panimula ang isang medyo kakaibang karanasan noong ako ay High School. Totoong medyo nagulat talaga ako sa pangyayaring yaon at hindi ko akalaing gagana ng husto ang mga matang matagal ko nang naisip na kahinaan. Medyo nakakabibo din talaga ang bilis ng "brain processing" ko sa pagkakataong yon. San ka pa?


I was in Junior highschool then, around my early teen years. My friends and I visited a beach resort on a moody Summer. Philippine weather rarely cooperates and doesn't understand Summer is supposed to be sunny. But it compromised on that day, it was neither sunny, nor cloudy, nor rainy - a mix of all those three.

The outing was fun. It was uneventful but fun. We had the beach and a responsible amount of booze. We also responsibly not swam too far from the shore during the night. That would have been incredibly foolish considering it was a full moon that day and the tide was high and strong. I recall looking at the glorious moon a lot that night - the sight was exquisite, staring at the sky in a wide open space with sloshing waves in the background. While the sun won't allow me even a split second to gaze at it, the moon's very inviting and mesmerizing.

At one moment, something seemed off. There's a gnawing feeling that I can't quite place. Was it just the pull of the moon? But there wasn't really anything. The outing was normal fun. It normally ended and then we're off to a 4-hour long drive home nearing midnight.

Baka echos lang yung ibang detalye pero natatandaan ko na medyo maliwanag ang gabing yoon dala ng malakas na presensya ng buwan. Isang bahagi ng isip ko ang medyo na-praning at napaabang sa kung mayroon bang hiwagang mangyayari. Naalala kong ako ay tumitingin sa malayo, hanggang sa dulo ng dagat na tanaw ko. Minamasid ang mga anino at mga kumakabig na alon, nagtatanong kung may kakaiba ba akong makikita. Sa kabutihang palad, walang kinahinatnan ang panandaliang kapraningan. Sa huli, nagtapos ang araw nang masaya at dumating na ang oras para umuwi.

And then we were driving home

It was my friend's uncle who drove for us. Their family owns a piece of the place we went to. It was really nice of him to stay up late and sober during the entire night. He says it's what he often does - drive for family and friends going to the beach.

The van was packed and we all barely fit. I'm pretty sure we maxed out the recommended seating capacity twice over. One more person and it could have been a very unpleasant ride. But with our semi-comfortable seating arrangement, most were able to doze off. The night is high and is lulling everyone to sleep. Not me though. I've been sitting beside a good friend and we've been chatting since the moment we stepped in the car. Loudly at first but out of consideration for those sleeping and a tinge of drowsy feeling, the volume simmered down, and eventually into a lull.

I've run out of energy and fire to talk. "Quickly, I must think of something." Maybe it was because of the full moon and the weird mood it brought earlier, I decided to do a mini-test of courage with my friend. I imagined daring her to stare at the roadside just a few feet away from the van. I was plotting in my head to scare her a bit... Boy, I was about to get punk'd by Karma big time.

Totoo. Minsan meedyo mabilis talaga ang karma. Hindi ko pa nga nabibitawan ang mga salita at nasa isip ko pa lang, nariyan na agad ang karma. Dahil yoon ang nasa isip ko, syempre ako muna ang unang tatanaw sa labas. Ang masklap ako yun taong nakaupo sa gilid at nasa window seat. At mas masaklap, nakabukas ang bintana sa tabi ko nang todo kasi masarap ang hangin ng madaling-araw.

Remember that bit earlier when I said I have poor eyesight and all? Until this time, I'm still wondering WHY was I was seeing it so vividly, like high-definition-level clear.


Next part

*Itutuloy ... *

Image by Jack Ward from Unsplash edited using SparkAdobe.com

Sort:  

So this was not for real? Or all of this is imagined?

It was based on real experience but I'm still open for more logical possibilities or maybe we were entirely delusional. I intentionally left a fiction tag to let readers interpret it in any way they want to. Thanks for reading! Part 2 is up.

Okaaaaay...so, I'm a month late and prolly my upvote wouldn't mean a thing. Pero... ba't ang galing mo jazz? Yung detalye and the language, impressive! Sabi ko na nkakaintimidate ka minsan eh.

Salamat Val, keri lang kahit late basa haha. Na-appreciate ko ang suporta.
Pwede na ba ibala yan sa mga collab? XD

Actually, gusto ko mag back out! Na intimidate ako. Super😂

Natutuwa ako at napabilib ko ang isang mahusay na manunulat gaya mo.
Pero back out talaga? XD Mga finish the story style kaya? Parang tagalog serye pero 2 parts lang.

Nice! Gusto ko yan!

Posted using Partiko Android

It was a nice read until the cliffhanger came in, when will the next part be released?

Yung tagalog, matalinhaga nag nosebleed ako haha

Posted using Partiko Android

Thanks for reading my post, man. I was planning to finish the whole thing earlier but I got lazy haha.
I will properly tag the next part since it might be quite creepy for some.

It was a nice change of pace from the usual blog type posts I read most of the time. You have a knack for building a nice story and the words you used makes my imagination wander and visualize things too so props to that.

I didn't see that last part coming, I am fond of scary stories but not of jump scare types so reading works better for me.

Thank you for the nice review :) Appreciate it. I'll try writing the next part tomorrow. The scene in my mind is quite elaborate to write so I took a break. I hope I give it justice.

Bakit ka ganyan @jazzhero? Hindi ako mahilig magbasa ng nakakatakot eh. Bakit ka ba nananakot kasi??? Hahaha

Haha. Wag mo na basahin yun kasunod, Rome. Charot lang yun "fiction". Makatotohanan yun kwento haha. Pero sa Tagalog ko lang iyon ikukumpirma.

Why oh why now ko lang itey nabasa! Maka cliffhanger naman ito siya! haha! Excited na ako sa karugtong, wag na mag tamad2x go na! :D Kidding aside, this is such a good narration of an untoward incident in your life. Please don't leave us hanging. Dont be like me! lol

Also, natatawa ako sa Tagalog version! Pero ang witty parin! :D

Naubusan ako energy kanina haha. Tapos nakita kong 800 words na kaya tinuloy ko na sa post. Medjo motivated ako tapusin ito, kaya isusulat ko bukas. Bakit ako motivated? Para ma-prompt kita to share your own story din haha.

Hindi naman ganoong nakakabagabag ang mga susunod na pangyayari. Pero kakaiba lang talaga - at pati na rin ang aking naging reaksyon.

Hahaha! Excited na rin akong magsulat Jazz. Nakakwindang ung experiences ko eh, may S, plural, madami 😂 excited na aq sa kasunod. Gising na! 😂

Kinakabahan na ko e. Tapos biglang “to be continued”. Feeling ko nakakadiri yung nakita mo sa labas. Hahaha

Nakakainis in a good way yung ganitong storya. Haha pabitin kaya kaabang-abang yung kasunod. :)

Posted using Partiko iOS

Quits tayo, Czera. Grabe yun cliffhanger mo sa serye hehe. Ang sakit nun, pero looking forward din ako kung paano iyon itutuloy ng kagrupo mo.

Nako, medyo iba dun sa ineexpect mo haha. Pero medyo weird pa rin. Tapusin ko bukas :D

  • this post receives 100% upvote from @beyonddisability. Thanks to @beyonddisability
  • boss @jazzhero minsan ka lang magsulat pero ambangis eh.
  • gawin ang collaboration ng horror series
  • naeexcite na ako
  • sobra akong nabitin
  • parang yung kumakain ako sa Mang Inasal at ninanamnam ko ang hita ng manok tapos umorder ako ng extra rice tapos ang sabi niluluto pa raw. Ganung klase ng pagkabitin. Grrr
  • kak

Yun Tagalogserye nyo nuong nakaraan ang nag-motivate sa akin na magsulat, kaya salamat BD!
Push natin ang collab. Try kong sumabay sa inyo pag dating sa horror. Parang di ko kakayanin ang level ninyo sa horror XD. Narito ang karugtong na isinulat ko kanina :)

  • cgeh gawin natin boss yung collab.
  • I am ready when you are ready

hi i'm @checky i'm a bot! tito @jazzhero you have a slight error on the usage of ng at nang

Sa huli, nagtapos ang araw ng masaya at dumating na ang oras para umuwi.

it should be nang

and also

At mas masaklap, nakabukas ang bintana sa tabi ko ng todo

should also be nang

ok lang un tito jazz, maiba lang ng comment. nyahaha! 😂
Pero gustong-gusto ko ang pagkakadetalye ng kwento at excited na ako sa susunod. Kapana-panabik ang next na mangyayari.

Haha. Salamat sa pag-check, Jampol. Bagama't sinubukan kong mag-ingat, marami pa rin nakalusot. Na-appreciate ko ang feedback. Thanks! Subukan ko na ding isulat ngayon ang kasunod.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 63968.82
ETH 3136.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.28