5 Minute Freewrite Sunday Prompt : tongue

in #freewrite6 years ago (edited)

Sharing a snippet of my NaNoWrimo FreewriteMadness based on today's prompt.


“It’s a boarding school?” Clarissa jerked with surprise and the top scoop of her ice cream cone teetered dangerously. She poked it securely back in place, licked the sides of the cone with her tongue, then wiped her hand on the bright green sod surrounding Sneaky Tate’s parking lot. On a far corner of the lawn the sprinklers made a slow swooshing noise, and drops of water fell to the ground glistering like jewels in the afternoon sun. Clarrisa and Leah had headed directly from the dance class to San Lorenzo’s popular hangout to celebrate Leah’s big news.

u32ub36hyv.jpg
Ice Cream

Leah rolled her eyes at Clarissa’s question. “Dumb, Morely. You’re really dumb!” Leah paused to lick the edge of her frozen fruit bar, then let out a patient sign. Sometimes her best friend’s ignorance of dance matters was astounding. “For someone who’s been studying ballet almost as long as I have, you really don’t know a thing.”

“Tell my mother that!” Clarissa groaned, brushing crumbs from her cone off her white shorts.” Maybe she’ll finally let me stop dancing. I’ve been studying nearly eight years, just like you, and I’m still not graceful, And I still hate ballet with a passion. Give me dogs, cats, horses, cows, the great outdoors,” she said with an emphatic toss on her red braid. “I’m just not the indoor, cultured type. You know that. The problem is my mother doesn’t.”


Many thanks to @mariannewest and @freewritehouse for bringing me along in this magnificent journey. Through them, I have found back my desires to write, be it fiction, freewrite, true or make-belief. I have evolved myself into more than just a reader. Unlike in the past, where I would stick my nose into a book and be amazed with the creations of others, now I'm able to share my own creations to the world.

My first freewrite prompt was : Time to move on in July 2018. Since then, I've never looked back. Just like the song Let It Go by Idina Menzel, when one start to write, the words just keeps flowing out continuously.
So, come join us and let the feelings come out from your heart and the words will eventually form on its own. Before, you know it, your first Freewrite is complete.


bad gif.gif

signature_2.gif

Sort:  

@ireenchew Haha this snippet makes me wanna read about Leah's future experiences after she gets accepted (:

And btw, I have a soft spot for ballet (:

Thanks @joeylim
Coming soon.. coming soon...
Brain starting to get dried up with ideas ha ha

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

I can relate to the thoughts expressed by Clarissa. It's unfortunate some parents don't allow their children to develop in the direction of their own desires. #NovMadFan

Oh yes.. Parents set the direction in which they want their children to be and if they don't.. Just too sad to go through that road.
Thanks for dropping by @wandrnrose7

Excellent story, I'll see if I dare to write short stories. regards

This post has received a 25.00% upvote from @daeshawn!
You deserve an upvote for your post. Keep posting and I'll be around. One upvote deserves another please feel free to upvote this comment if you like what I do.

This post was spotted by @theluvbug and has received a 100% upvote and possibly a resteem too.
If you would like to possibly receive future support from @theluvbug
then please make use of the #theluvbug tag.

Spreading the STEEMIT LOVE with upvotes and resteems of AWESOME Steemit content. Use #theluvbug to get my attention :)

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with @steemitbloggers
and their founder @jaynie

interested in joining the Steemit Bloggers Community?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 58527.16
ETH 2486.24
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41