Some Change -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite7 years ago

There's some time in the past when I wrestled with myself about whether to give some change to a homeless person. I thought I could analyze all the variables and come up with an answer about whether some change would help or hinder any particular individual.

Here's what's rough. Certainly, certainly, I think, if I had locked myself out of my apartment, and had to take the train to where my wife is to get her keys or something, I would want someone to help me... but I don't think.

I guess. That's irrelevant. I'm trying to think of something....

I believe in hitchhiking. And in trusting people. I will gladly lend someone my phone to make a call. But the experts on the subject tell me time and again, that giving change to someone does not change their lives for the better. The experts need to get these people into long term care facilities. Or they need to at least get them in touch with the resources that can help them....

but another part of me says, there are also studies that... well, no... There are studies that show, that just providing a basic income to people, if it's consistent, will cost the system far less in the long run. So we should do that. But dribs and drabs of change aren't going to do that. I wish I could help you , man. I guess If I were truly charitable, I would take the time to find you each day and make sure you had everything you needed.

Sort:  

I agree. I help everyone, and there has been more than one occasion, that I caused more trouble for myself by helping, such as offering a ride to someone who does not have a car. Sure you feel better the first time, but when they call you up two times a week to take them to the store, or go pick their kid up from school, you start thinking maybe it is better just to ignore the needs of others, and that is not right either.

Oof, that's tough. I don't own a car, but I only accept a ride after making sure it's not too inconvenient for whomever is offering. Mostly we bike or take the bus. (Or hitchhike)

Yup. We need some change in the system. That is for sure!! And giving change or not is a real dilemma. Usually, I try to give people food. I once hired a homeless person who had cleaned up to come every evening and sweep the parking lot and help with breaking down boxes and all of that - the result: he had regular money and started drinking heavily again.....

Oh man. That's a tough situation.

This is a thought I have had many times and go back and forth just like you did here. :D
Great Job!!

This is a true moral dilemma.

I just give them the change, or a couple dollars, if I have it. Even if they buy booze with it, at least they'll feel warmer and a little numb to the fact that they're sleeping on the sidewalk. But mostly, I give it because kindness is the only thing I've found that makes suffering tolerable. It's terrible to be homeless, but it's so much worse to be homeless in a world where nobody cares.

Like you, I feel like I should do more, but I think it's better to give a little bit than nothing at all.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59479.71
ETH 3174.48
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.44