Miami -5minutefreewrite

in #freewrite6 years ago

For https://steemit.com/contest/@freewritehouse/day-32-selfie-freewrite-celebration-contest-prize-109-016-sbd

Today as an exercise, I did a bit of a funny thing and wrote my tags first. Let's see if I can fulfill the promise of a noir story.

Catarina Blank was the kinda dame you'd expect to be the distressed damsel in one of these stories, but she's a P.I., just like me, Bruce Gonner.

And here I was, walking into her office like some kinda victim, looking like trouble had met me and come out the victor. It had.

"I need your help, Catarina."

"When you're in my office, call me Detective Blank, Bruce." Catarina and I had been sharing a booth at the down-by-the conference center bar, Miami Water, since before I was a dick, and she seemed eager to remind me that she knew more about the biz than I did every time I need her help. I'd call her a mentor, but do mentors usually bill by the hour? She does.

"Alright Detective Blank, I lost something that needs to be found, my found-ten pen. The pen that I have had with me on the last 10 cases, all of which were successful and all of which involved the recovery of items. It's a fountain pen."

miami.jpg
I would like to be more creative with these selfies, like take it wearing a beach shirt and in front of a palm tree, but I always do these during the baby's naps, so I can't go outside or in our room to get a shirt, lest I wake him.

Sort:  

I love the pun-involved noir story. Amazing freewrite.

I really like the idea of the extra challenge you gave yourself.

Plus, The selfie excuse is the best I've heard yet. Letting the baby sleep peacefully is definitely more important than leaving to do something else!

I really liked writing the tags first haha. I liked this story! I automatically like the main character first, but by the end I was questioning. haha


I'm also the prompt deliverer fairy for the day!
Click this ☄ magical button!

Also, don't forget to read the latest posts from our new page
FREEWRITE HOUSE!

Freewritehouse-footer-500px.png
Click the graphic to join in the fun!

@freedomtowrite Which one was the main character to you? The "I" or "Catarina Blank"?

The "I"...it's funny you would ask that because I was questioning it when I wrote it haha

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 60268.51
ETH 3201.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43